Features include* Over 2000 photographs, drawings, maps, diagrams and charts provide a visual feast that breathes fresh life into the text.* Passage-by-passage commentary presents archaeological findings, historical explanations, geographic insights, notes on manners and customs, and more.* Analysis into the literature of the ancient Near East will open your eyes to new depths of understanding both familiar and unfamiliar passages. * Written by an international team of 30 specialists, all top scholars in background studies.
From Genesis through Malachi, this single volume gathers and condenses an abundance of specialized knowledge--making it available and accessible to ordinary readers of the Old Testament. Expert scholars John Walton, Victor Matthews and Mark Chavalas have included along with the fruits of their research and collaboration a glossary of historical terms, ancient peoples, texts and inscriptions maps and charts of important historical resources, expanded explanations of significant background issues, introductory essays on each book of the Old Testament.
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992 (Click on title above for online access)
Draws on experts in archaeology to provide information on such aspects of the Bible as cultural history, folklore in the ancient Near East, travel and communication, music, and even the use of computers in Biblical studies
A leading evangelical scholar surveys the cultural context of the ancient Near East, bringing insight to the interpretation of specific Old Testament passages. Now thoroughly updated and revised throughout.
This authoritative volume brings together a team of world-class scholars to cover the full range of Old Testament backgrounds studies in a concise, up-to-date, and comprehensive manner. With expertise in various subdisciplines of Old Testament backgrounds, the authors illuminate the cultural, social, and historical contexts of the world behind the Old Testament. They introduce readers to a wide range of background materials, covering history, geography, archaeology, and ancient Near Eastern textual and iconographic studies. Meant to be used alongside traditional literature-based canonical surveys, this one-stop introduction to Old Testament backgrounds fills a gap in typical introduction to the Bible courses. It contains over 100 illustrations, including photographs, line drawings, maps, charts, and tables, which will facilitate its use in the classroom.
Professor Buster: "focuses on images in the Psalms but the contents are listed topically, and if one is dealing with symbolism related to the flora and fauna of the ANE, the temple, or conceptions of God, it provides another accessible work." -- This pioneering work that first appeared in 1972 in German was the first to compare the conceptual world of a biblical book with ancient Near Eastern iconography. Generously illustrated with photographs and line drawings.
This study considers the historical, cultural, and literary significance of some of the most important Ancient Near East (ANE) texts that illuminate the Hebrew Bible. Christopher B. Hays provides primary texts from the Ancient Near East with a comparison to literature of the Hebrew Bible to demonstrate how Israel's Scriptures not only draw from these ancient contexts but also reshape them in a unique way. Hays offers a brief introduction to comparative studies, then lays out examples from various literary genres that shed light on particular biblical texts. Texts about ANE law collections, treaties, theological histories, prophecies, ritual texts, oracles, prayers, hymns, laments, edicts, and instructions are compared to corresponding literature in the Pentateuch, Prophets, and Writings of the Hebrew Bible. The book includes summaries to help instructors and students identify key points for comparison. By considering the literary and historical context of other literature, students will come away with a better understanding of the historical, literary, and theological depth of the Hebrew Bible. Source: Old Testament Abstracts [Abstracted by: Fred W. Guyette] - Abstract Number: OTA38-2015-OCT-2606
This revised and updated edition of the classic in its field is an essential reference tool for all students of Christianity. Listing archaeological sites vital to an accurate understanding of the origins and developments of the great western religions, it also contains app. 100 pages on ancient Churches and Monasteries. Organised alphabetically and in four volumes this comprehensive work contains over 400 articles prepared by more than 150 scholars around the world. Lavishly illustrated with more than 2000 maps, plans, charts and drawings.
Leading evangelical scholar John Walton surveys the cultural context of the ancient Near East, bringing insight to the interpretation of specific Old Testament passages. This new edition of a top-selling textbook has been thoroughly updated and revised throughout to reflect the refined thinking of a mature scholar. It includes over 30 illustrations. Students and pastors who want to deepen their understanding of the Old Testament will find this a helpful and instructive study.
In this new edition of a successful book (over 120,000 copies sold), now updated throughout, a leading expert on the social world of the Bible offers students a reliable guide to the manners and customs of the ancient world. From what people wore, ate, and built to how they exercised justice, mourned, and viewed family and legal customs, this illustrated introduction helps readers gain valuable cultural background on the biblical world. The attractive, full-color, user-friendly design will appeal to students, while numerous pedagogical features--including fifty photos, sidebars, callouts, maps, charts, a glossary of key terms, chapter outlines, and discussion questions--increase classroom utility. Previously published as Manners and Customs in the Bible.
3-volume collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have some bearing on the interpretation of the Bible. Features full cross-referencing to comparable Bible passages. Copies available in circulation, in the reference collection and online (click on title above).
A portable anthology of ancient Near Eastern laws and stories that share parallel themes and issues with biblical stories, now in a fourth edition, revised and expanded. Old Testament Parallels has been, since its first edition, one of Paulist Press's best-regarded and best-selling titles. It has brought fresh and reader-friendly translation of the most important near east documents that share parallel themes and issues with biblical stores. This fourth edition has been completely revised in light of the ongoing and exciting discoveries of more and more ancient Near Eastern texts.
This is series is an ongoing publication of important collections of ancient Near Eastern texts. They range from all over the ancient Near East and focus on one genre, region, and time period. Many volumes also include extensive commentary on the texts under discussion.
Volume I outlines the early and gradual evolution of Egyptian literary genres, including biographical and historical inscriptions carved on stone, the various classes of literary works written with pen on papyrus, and the mortuary literature that focuses on life after death. Introduced with a new foreword by Antonio Loprieno. Volume II shows the culmination of these literary genres within the single period known as the New Kingdom (1550-1080 B.C.). With a new foreword by Hans-W. Fischer-Elfert. Volume III spans the last millennium of Pharaonic civilization, from the tenth century B.C. to the beginning of the Christian era. With a new foreword by Joseph G. Manning. (From the publisher's website.)
Etana is a multiinstitutional digital repository of texts and tools for studying the ancient Near East. Notably it also contains the ABZU which is a database of core ancient Near Eastern Texts as well as eTact, which provides modern translations of Akkadian cuneiform texts.
The Electronic Text Corpus of the Sumerian Language provides comprehensive editions of most of the available Sumerian texts. These editions include both Sumerian transcriptions and translations into English.
The project was finished in 2006 and the website is difficult to navigate, but the translations and information are still very viable. Using the Google and the search operator `site:etcslt.orinst.ox.ac.uk` to search for English translations is probably easier than browsing to them.
The Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative is a project which aims to create a comprehensive online collection of cuneiform tablets. Many of the available tablets in the CDLI are economic and administrative tablets, but there are also other genres available.
The first section of the Atlas introduces the "playing board" of biblical history. The next section, arranged historically, begins with Eden and traces the historical progression of the Old and New Testaments. It concludes with chapters on the history of Jerusalem, the disciplines of historical geography, and the most complete and accurate listing and discussion of place-names found in any atlas.
The New Moody Atlas of the Bible integrates the geography of Bible lands with the teachings of the Bible. Superior photography, comprehensive geographic detail, award-winning maps, distinctive theological discussion of geographical matters, and thorough documentation in the form of new indexes and 800+ endnotes set this atlas apart.