Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ERM LibGuide

Display Logic and Prioritizing Electronic Collections

Overview

With the Online Services Order page (Configuration Menu > Fulfillment > Discovery Interface Display Logic > Online Services Order), you can configure the order of the services that appear in the services results list in Primo View It. By default, all services are displayed alphabetically on the services result list. If a service is added to the top or bottom group on this page, that group is displayed on the services results list in the order that you specify, with the remainder of entries retaining their default sort order. The Display CZ Collections first, Prefer source service, and Prefer ID based Linking services radio buttons also override both the default alphabetic sort order as well as the list of services listed in the Top services section. The top service defined can be used by Primo’s direct linking option, from the search result record.

See the Ex Libris documentation on Configuring the Order of Online Services and Discovery Interface Display Logic  for additional details.

Wheaton's current Order of Online Services configuration is below:

 

Top Services

Order Service Type Service Name Service Value
1 Full Text Electronic collection Miscellaneous E-Journals                                                                    
2 Full Text Electronic collection Miscellaneous Ebooks
3 Full Text

Interface

Taylor & Francis
4 Full Text Interface Taylor & Francis Online
5 Full Text Interface SpringerLink - AutoHoldings
6 Full Text Interface Brillonline
7 Full Text Interface Brill
8 Full Text Interface Brill Online Books and Journals
9 Full Text Interface ACS Publications
10 Full Text Interface AIP (American Institute of Physics)
11 Full Text Interface Allen Press
12 Full Text Interface American Mathematical Society
13 Full Text Interface American Physical Society
14 Full Text Interface American Physiological Society
15 Full Text Interface Cambridge Journals Online
16 Full Text Interface Cambridge University Press
17 Full Text Interface Ovid
18 Full Text Interface Cambridge University Press Journals
19 Full Text Interface Walter De Gruyter Publishing
20 Full Text Interface Elsevier ScienceDirect Books Complete
21 Full Text Interface Nature
22 Full Text Interface nature.com
23 Full Text Interface Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals Complete
24 Full Text Interface BioOne

 

 

Bottom Services

Order Service Type Service Name Service Value
1 Full Text Interface CARLI
2 Full Text Interface EBSCOhost
3 Full Text Interface JSTOR
4 Full Text Interface Lexis Nexis
5 Full Text Interface Wiley Online Library

 

Preferred Electronic Collections in Alma

Preferred Alma Collections for eBooks:

Vendor

Alma Collection

Bloomsbury

Bloomsbury Collections All Titles

Brill Brill - All E-Book Titles
Cambridge Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
de Gruyter de Gruyters  eBooks Complete
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost eBooks (EBSCOhost Ebooks)
Elsevier Elsevier Science Direct Books
Gale Gale eBooks
JSTOR JSTOR Books
Oxford University Press (OUP) Oxford Scholarship Online Complete
Oxford Clinical Society  Oxford Scholarship Online Complete
Project Muse Project Muse Complete (usually contains a year)
ProQuest Ebook Central Ebook Central Perpetual, DDA and Subscription Titles
Sage Knowledge

Sage Knowledge A-Z (All Titles)

Taylor & Francis Taylor & Francis eBooks Complete
Wiley Online Library Wiley Online Library (Wiley Online Library Online Books)
World Scientific World Scientific eBooks

 

Setting Up ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Service

In order to configure general electronic services, you must have one of the following roles:

  • General System Administrator

  • Fulfillment Administrator

 

Please consult the following ExLibris Documentation for more information:

 

To enable delivery of dissertation full-text:

1. Activate the Electronic Collection, from the Community Zone.  Follow the activation wizard to activate this collection.  

  • Full-Text Service should be active
  • A bibliographic record should be linked and not suppressed

 

Search in the CZ for the Electronic Collection "ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global" and click on Activate.  Follow the instructions for the activation wizard.  

 

Next, enter into the Institutional Zone (IZ) and edit this collection.  The next few screen captures will show you the settings/preferences to edit the collection.  

 

In the "Electronic Collection Description" Tab, you can rename the collection for the public. 

 

In the "Additional" Tab, you can set up your proxy. 

 

 

2. Next, you will need to set up the General Electronic Service (GES) for this electronic collection.  

To set up the GES you will need to go to the Navigate to the Configurations menu: Configuration > Fulfillment > Discovery Interface Display Logic > General Electronic Service.  First, toggle on the service on the left side of the screen.  Next, click on the ellipsis (...) and choose "Edit."

 

In the "Service Details" Tab, make sure to fill out all the fields with a red * by them.  The "Public Name" field will be the name that your users see in Primo.  The URL template field, I left this URL as it was in the instructions (http://gateway.proquest.com/openurl?res_dat=xri%3Apqm&title={rft.btitle}&rft_val_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Adissertation&url_ver=Z39.88-2004&genre=dissertation) but prepended our proxy string to the beginning.  Click "Save" when finished. 

 

 

 

In the "Service Availability Rules" tab, this is where you will set up the rules to display or hide or this service and when.  For now, please disregard the  "Manuscripts" rule as I am still working on setting that up.  For now, just focus on the "Dissertations" rule.  Make sure to toggle the Dissertations rule to "on" and then click on the ellipsis to edit the rule.  

 

 

I left this rule named "Dissertation" but you can customize this name if you desire.  What is important on this page is under "Input Parameters"   section. Choose "+ Add Parameter" to add both "rft_genre"  and "rft_val_fmt" parameters to your rules.  When both parameters have been added and configured to mirror the below, click on "Save" in the upper right corner.  Configuring to these settings will make sure that this service rule only displays when a resource is tagged as a "dissertation".  

 

Back at the "Service Availability Rules" tab, scroll down to the "Default Rule" section and edit the "Default general electronic services rule". 

 

In this screen, you want to set the Output Parameters IsDisplay to "False" because we don't want this Service to display for all resources.  Click "Save" when finished.

 

 

The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses service should now be set up for your users.  To see an example of how this service will display in our PrimoVE instance, follow this link to the dissertation for The Cultural and Social Significance of Proverbial Material in Mid-Sixteenth Century English Verse.  There should be an entry in the View Online section ("Access content in ProQuest") in addition to a link at the very bottom of the page under the "Links" section ("Available in PDF at ProQuest Dissertations & Theses").  The entry in the View Online section may not always appear, but the link at the bottom of the page under the "Links" section is the General Service Rule that was set up for this collection.

Setting up Import Profiles for Local Electronic Collections

The following instructions were used to set up an import profile for our Naxos Music Library.  

ExLibris Documentation to consult: 

You will need the following roles to implement these instructions:

To create, edit, copy, or delete import profiles, you must have one of the following roles:

  • Catalog Administrator
  • Acquisitions Administrator

To view or share an import profile, you must have one of the following roles:

  • Acquisitions Administrator
  • Purchasing Operator
  • Purchasing Manager
  • Repository Administrator
  • Catalog Administrator
  • General System Administrator

To delete an import profile, you must have one of the following roles:

  • Repository Administrator
  • Catalog Administrator
  • Acquisitions Administrator
  • General System Administrator

To create/edit a digital import profile, you must have the following role:

  • Digital Inventory Operator

 

1. Create a Naxos Music Library Electronic Collection that contains 0 portfolios.  To do this, create a local collection (Resources > Add Local Electronic Collection).  

 

2. Set up the Naxos Music Library Import Profile (Resources > Manage Import Profiles > Add New Profile).  I named this import profile "Naxos Music Library Add/Delete Records".  The following are screenshots that shows the parameters I used to set up this import profile.  

Profile Details Tab

 

Normalization & Validation Tab

 

Match Profile Tab

Because Naxos Music tracks don't have an 035 field in their MARC records, you will need to choose "Extended Fuzzy Serial Match Method" for the Serial match method and "Extended Fuzzy Non-Serial Match Method" for the Non Serial match method. 

 

Set Management Tags Tab

 

Inventory Information Tab

In the "Indicators to Skip" field, input 42 so that related resources aren't also imported.  

 

 

3. Test the newly created import profile on a small batch of records.  (Add and delete MARC records)

  • Go to the Naxos admin site and download a batch of records. 
  • open the .mrc file in MarcEdit and reduce the file down to a small number of records (5-10).
  • run the .mrc file through the import profile (Resources > Manage Import Profiles > ellipses to the right of the Naxos Music Library Import Profile > Run > Select File > select the correct .mrc file > Add > Submit)
  • Once the import profile is finished running, check the Naxos Music Library electronic collection and make sure all portfolios from your test batch were added to the electronic collection and that the links work.  
  • Open the .mrc file in MarcEdit and in each MARC record, change position 5 of the LDR from to d to denote delete.  
  • Run the revised .mrc file through the import profile again (Resources > Manage Import Profiles > ellipses to the right of the Naxos Music Library Import Profile > Run > Select File > select the correct .mrc file > Add > Submit)
  • Once the import profile is finished running, heck the Naxos Music Library electronic collection to make sure all portfolios from your batch were deleted.  

 

4. To import all of the records from Naxos Music Library

  • Go to the Naxos admin site and download all of the MARC records, they are organized by year and quarter
  • Open each .mrc file in MarcEdit and replace the first part of the 856 $u field from "http://univportal." to "https://wheaton.nml3." then save the .mrc file.
  • run the edited .mrc file through the import profile (Resources > Manage Import Profiles > ellipses to the right of the Naxos Music Library Import Profile > Run > Select File > select the correct .mrc file > Add > Submit).  Repeat this for each year's .mrc file.  
  • The portfolios should now appear in the Naxos Music Library electronic collection and be active.

 

5. To delete the records from Naxos Music Library

  • I am still working on how to download and match up only the MARC files that Naxos has removed from their library.  Naxos provides a .csv file with a list of unique identifier, but I have not been able to match those unique identifiers to existing tracks.  I'm hoping to explore this further next quarter.  
  • For now, I plan to remove all of the files by year by editing position 5 of the LDR from n to d in MarcEdit and running that file through the import profile.  

 

Relinking POL information

Much of following documentation is derived from CARLI's instructions to Relink Purchase Order Line (POL) associated with a P2E resource.  

There will be times when it will necessary to relink acquisitions data (POL) to a different portfolio.  The vast majority of these cases will be to deduplicate portfolios that migrated information from both Voyager and SFX, but there could be other instances where this method is used.  

 

I intend to use my own screenshots and instructions here, but until I am able to do that, please follow the instructions linked above.