Research Guides: ERM LibGuide: Ongoing Access and Evaluation

Managing Electronic Collections

Community Zone Updates Task List (CZUTL)

The CZUTL lets you know when changes have been made to any electronic collections that you've activated. This includes changes to metadata, updates to links, removal of content from a collection, or the removal of a collection from the CZ. It's important to monitor the CZ Updates Task List to prevent your patrons from losing access to content in Primo VE. The only way you'll know if a title or collection has been deactivated is if you keep an eye on the CZ Updates Task List, or if someone complains.

Using the CZ Updates Task List:

Make sure that you've got the Repository Manager role
Look in the Alma header under Resources->Manage Inventory
Don't have to check the list daily - weekly or monthly would be fine. You can set a calendar reminder.
Filter by the most important types of actions: Electronic collection deleted, portfolio deleted, and electronic service deleted.
When you see something that has been deleted, you will need to take action to reactivate it in a new collection, service, or portfolio.

Automatic Electronic Holdings

The following documentation shows how to set up automatic holdings for certain vendors that offer that service:

Upload Electronic Holdings from ProQuest Ebook Central
Ex Libris documentation on creating and maintaining automatic holdings for ProQuest Ebook Central
Upload Electronic Holdings from Elsevier
Ex Libris documentation on creating and maintaining automatic holdings for Elsevier.
Uploading Consolidated Electronic Holdings
Ex Libris documentation for all automated electronic holdings.
Upload Electronic Holdings from Ovid
Ex Libris documentation on creating and maintaining automatic holdings for Ovid.
Upload Electronic Holdings from Springer
Ex Libris documentation on creating and maintaining automatic holdings for Springer.

Linking

Linking Out

Your full-text linking parameters are set up in Alma for everything except "link in record" content from the PCI. You can determine if you want patrons to be able to link directly from the brief result to the available content, or if you want them to open the full record and link from there. Your proxy and authentication settings can affect the success of your linking. You can set up additional links for things like ILLiad, Unpaywall, Reprints desk, etc. using General Electronic Services and other methods, and then determine when those links will display based on display logic.

Linking In

Primo VE works as your link resolver as well as your discovery system. When you set up your Alma/Primo link resolver in external systems like stand-alone databases (e.g. JSTOR), WorldCat, or Google Scholar, the link will send OpenURL data to the link resolver services page. The system will then check to see if you own the item either physically or electronically, and if so, it will provide that information. If not, it will provide request links based on how you've set your linking up. The system defaults to search by ISBN/ISSN and if that data isn't available, it will try to search by title, which can result in poor matching. The searching and transfer of data to request systems is only as good as the incoming data, and you may need to do additional set-up to deal with some of the known issues with bad incoming data.