Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Students @ a Distance

Using the Library @ a Distance Guide ...

Welcome to Buswell Library! This guide will help you utilize the materials, people, and other resources available from Buswell Library to support your learning and scholarship.

  • Scholarly Research and Planning
  • Subject Librarian Support
    • One-on-one help (see below) and research guides for your discipline (select program tab on the right)
  • Access Materials
    • Find and access books, articles, databases, and more.

To get started using this guide, select the Getting Started tab from the menu above.

Professor Gregory Morrison 

Professor Steve Oberg 

Professor Christa Strickler 

Professor Cathy Troupos 

  • The main gateway to the library's resources is library.wheaton.edu.
  • You may need to sign in (image below) with your Wheaton network ID to see all of the access and request options for an item.

  • If you don't know your network credentials or are having problems authenticating, contact AIT at 630-752-4357 or ait.service.desk@wheaton.edu
  • The library provides access to many online full text journals and ebooks. In most cases, however, books will only be available in print, and you will need to request a scan of a chapter or the book to be mailed to you. For this service please use buswell.delivery@wheaton.edu. More information...

Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) is a powerful search tool to use in addition to the library's database, and with Scholar's "library links" feature you can link seamlessly to the library's print and electronic resources. 

   
Search library FAQs
Text: 630-426-3432
Phone: 630-752-5169

Accessing Materials

Access databases by discipline or title from the library web site (look for link to “Research Databases” in the Discover tab).

  • Don't see the full text? Look for the "find it" button. "Find it!"...

    • ... searches Wheaton's access to full text in other databases.

    • ... gives you the opportunity to place an ILLiad/interlibrary loan.

Don't see the full text? Use the "find it!" button,

  • The "Find it!" button...

    • ... searches Wheaton's access to full text in other databases.

    • ... gives you the opportunity to place an ILLiad/interlibrary loan request.

      • Add your program and status in the note field, "e.g. Off-campus student in ELIC program."

  • If you have a citation, use the Citation Search, found on the articles tab on the library home page to use "Find it!" to look for full text.

 If you need help, contact interlibrary.loan@wheaton.edu.

Ebooks

The library collection contains a large number of e-books.  Search using the search box on the library home page.  When your results screen is displayed, use the facets on the left side to limit to ebooks. 

Book Chapters

The library will also scan a book chapter of a print book in our collection. 

If you are in a database:

Use the "Find it" to request the item through ILLiad.  Add your program and status in the note field, "e.g. Off-campus student in ELIC program." 

If you have a citation:

  • Log in to ILLiad
  • Select Book Chapter under "New Request."
  • Input your citation information.
  • Add your program and status in the note field, "e.g. Off-campus student in TESOL program." 

The chapter will then be scanned and sent to you as a digital copy. If you need help contact interlibrary.loan@wheaton.edu,

If Buswell does not have a copy of the book with the chapters you need, you can order it through I-Share or ILLiad and then request specific chapters to be scanned and sent as a digital copy.  Additional details and instructions are on the library web site.

Print Books

If a student is more than 50 miles from Buswell or an Illinois I-Share library (Map of I-Share libraries), Buswell will mail books from Buswell's print collection and books obtained from I-Share/ILLiad libraries to a U.S. address at no cost to the student.  The student will be responsible for the cost of mailing books back to the library.  Additional details.

I-Share Books

Buswell Library belongs to a consortia of Illinois academic libraries called I-Share.  As a member you can:

  • Visit any Illinois I-Share library and check out books using your Wheaton ID.  Map of I-Share libraries.

  • Return any books you checked out from Buswell Library at any I-Share library.

  • Request books owned by other i-Share libraries to be delivered to another i-Share library near your location.

    • From the library homepage, click Search All I-Share Libraries or you can use the dropdown menu next to the search bar on the results screen to widen your search to All I-Share Libraries. 
    • Sign in when prompted using your NetID and password.
    • If the book you want is checked out of Buswell or held by another I-Share library, select I-Share in the record.  
    • You can change the pick-up location to a local I-Share library, if you prefer. Or, you can contact buswell.delivery@wheaton.edu for help getting access to the book. 
    • Click Submit Request. You will be sent an email when your item is available.

 

Tutorials are available on basic searching techniques, library resources, and specialized databases.

Wheaton also subscribes to Lynda.com that provides high-quality video tutorials on a variety of topics. When asked to log in - select "Work or School account" and use your first.last@my.wheaton.edu email login and password.