Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanitarian and Disaster Leadership

This research guide is for students in the Humanitarian and Disaster Leadership program.

Accessing Library Resources from a Distance

Be sure to familiarize yourself with using the library to access resources when you are not on campus at http://wheaton.libguides.com/distance and how to request services https://library.wheaton.edu/students/distance on the library web site.

Resources to help at each step of your research paper or project

It is difficult to recommended one database for finding resources in Humanitarian and Disaster Leadership where many topics are cross-disciplinary.  

  • USE the "Discover" search from the Library home page.  
    • The "Discover" search will simultaneously search for books and ebooks as well as articles found in JSTOR, ERIC, MEDLINE, and Academic Search Premier.
    • Use the facets on the left to limit your results to articles or ebooks.
  • USE Google to search for information from organizations. 
    • Limit your searches in Google to include only organizational sites by including "site:.org" with your keywords when searching. 
    • To remove .com sites from your search, include "-site:.com" with your keywords.
  • USE Springerlink to access a large collection of scholarly ebooks in a wide variety of disciplines published by Springer along with journal articles from the journals they publish.  New titles are added on a continuing basis.
Whether you start with the "ALL" search, a specific database, or Google Scholar, the best research strategy is to use the iterative research process, where you perform multiple searches, refining your research criteria based on what you find.  Each iteration will take you closer to your desired goal. 

Consider installing and using Zotero, software that you can use to organize your citations and help with writing and citing.

Before using any information source in your paper, whether it is a book, article, or something from a webpage, you need to carefully evaluate the information to make sure it is both reliable and appropriate. Use this list of questions to help you evaluate information. Depending on your information need, different criteria will be more or less important

  1. Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view? 
  2. Purpose - Why was the source created? Who is the intended audience?
  3. Publication & format - Where was it published? In what medium?
  4. Relevance - How is it relevant to my research? What is its scope?
  5. Date of publication - When was it written? Has it been updated?
  6. Documentation - Did they cite their sources? Who did they cite?

Additional information at - Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask  Steps and Guidelines for effectively evaluating websites. (UC-Berkeley).


It is not always easy to figure out if online sources are credible. Below are four short videos showing some tools you could use to help you determine if a source is credible.

  1. Watch a short introduction about sorting fact from fiction
  2. Tools to use to investigate the source
  3. Tools to find the original source
  4. Tools to find a trusted source


3:13 minutes

2:45 minutes

1:33 minutes

4:10 minutes

Consult the Qualitative Research Guide

The Guide provides:

  • An overview of qualitative research including data collection techniques and data analysis.
  • Links to free software like QDA Miner lite, and Taguette and purchased software like NVIVO.

Consult the Quantitative Research Guide

The Guide provides:

  • An overview of statistical analysis.
  • Links to free software options for doing statistical analysis and tutorials for using SPSS and R.

 

Consult these resources to help you write your literature review.

Short 3-minute video explaining how to synthesizing literature when writing a literature review

The Wheaton College writing center has resources to help you with writing and formatting your paper.


Video: Literature Reviews: A Guide for Graduate Students created by the North Carolina State Libraries.

Zotero is a reference manager that can not only hell you organize your research resource but it can also help you with formatting in-text citations and your bibliography.

Citation style guides

   
Search library FAQs

Text: 630-426-3432
Phone: 630-752-5169

Online HDL Resources & Statistics

All Hazards

Search over 20,000 scholarly/peer-reviewed articles and 5,000 proceedings from academic, non-government organizations, and governmental conferences and workshops covering all-hazards topics. 

 

Disaster Information Management Research Center (NLM)

Health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery.

 

Disaster Lit

A database of links to free disaster medicine and public health documents. 

 

EM-DAT 
Information on the human impact of disasters, disaster-related economic damage estimates and disaster-specific international aid contributions from the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)

 

Hazlit

The Natural Hazards Center Library provides citations to hazards resources that focus on how society copes with natural hazards and catastrophic events.

 

Humanitarian Response

A specialized digital service of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) with Information Management tools, services, and a place for information exchange between operational responders during a sudden emergency. This site also provides access to country specific emergency sites.

 

National Academies

Free download of all their books. Click on Resources at the top of the page.

 

National Emergency Training Center Library

An online catalog and periodical index of articles in scholarly and trade journals serving the emergency management, fire, EMS, and homeland security communities.

 

PTSDpubs (Literature On Traumatic Stress)

The PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS) is an extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs although it is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans.

 

ReliefWeb

The leading humanitarian information source on global crises and disasters, provided by the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA).

 

SAMHSA

Behavioral health resources that help responders prepare, respond, and recover from disasters.

National Academies Press EM eBooks

A collection of reports providing guidelines and targeted resources for all stakeholders in a disaster response and recommended improvements including post-disaster public engagement practices.

Data.gov

Datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. You will find descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata) and information about how to access and use the dataset

FastStats

Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance 

Statista

Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries

​​UNISDR: Disaster Statistics

A collection of statistical databases sponsored by the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction.

World Development Indicators Online

A collection of development indicators, compiled from official international sources. Data is current and includes national, regional and global estimates.