Skip to main content

Students @ a Distance

Resources for your research paper or project

Online library resources for topics in biblical studies and theology... 

If you're looking for an overview of a person or subject with suggestions for further reading then
If you're looking for books or ebooks, including Bible commentaries... then search the Library Catalog. For commentaries specifically use the following search terms: bible commentaries [specific book]; to see only ebook commentaries, select the "Wheaton College" and "eBooks" limits in the left column.
If you're looking for journal articles then start with ATLA Religion database. Other recommended databases.
If you have a citation and need to find the full article then use Citation Search. It searches for items across all of our full text resources. Learn how Google Scholar can also serve this purpose.
If you have questions, or would like additional research assistance  then email Professor Morrison or make an appointment below.
 

Wheaton students have access to a large number of full text online journal articles.

When searching in a database if full text is not available, use the "find it!" button,

  • The "Find it!" button...
    • ... searches Wheaton's access to full text in other databases.
    • ... gives you the opportunity to place an ILLiad (interlibrary loan) request for the item.
  • If you have a citation, use the Citation Search or set up Google Scholar to perform the same function.

If the full text is available only in a print format in Buswell Library, email interlibrary.loan@wheaton.edu and they scan the item and send you a digital copy. 

Ebooks

The library collection contains a large number of ebooks.  Start your search using the search box on the library home page.  When your results screen is displayed, use the facets on the left side to limit to ebooks. 

  • Some ebooks are checked out for a limited period of time, typically, from 24 hours to 2 weeks.  Other ebooks, such as those provided through Springer (publisher/vendor) allow you to download your own copy at no charge.
  • Important biblical and theological full text sources on the WEB:
    • Theological Commons @ Princeton University - Draws on the full text scans of books at Archive.org that are in the public domain and provides a more sophisticated search interface and fuller descriptions of items.
    • CCEL (Christian classics ethereal library) @ Calvin College - Fully searchable texts of theological texts including Philip Schaff's 19th century English translation of select writings from the Ante-Nicene, and Nicene Post-Nicene Fathers. Included are the major writings of Augustine and the homilies of St. John Chrysostom, and much more. 

Book Chapters

The library will also scan a book chapter of a print book in our collection if you meet the criteria for this service.  Email your request to buswell.delivery@wheaton.edu.

  • You have access to the full text of the reference works below
  • Each title in the IVP (Black) Bible Dictionary series allows only 3 users to access it simultaneously
  • The Loeb Classical Library, the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the New Pauly Encyclopedia offer unlimited simultaneous use

New Testament Reference | Old Testament | Greco-Roman Backgrounds

Tutorials are available on basic searching techniques, library resources, and specialized databases.