History

An anthology of primary documents and scholarly interpretations of witchcraft from the 15th to 18th century.

A gripping story of a family tragedy brought about by witch-hunting in Puritan New England that combines history, anthropology, sociology, politics, theology and psychology.

This superb documentary collection illuminates the history of witchcraft and witch-hunting in seventeenth-century New England.

A Companion to African American History is a collection of original and authoritative essays arranged thematically and topically, covering a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day. Analyzes the major sources and the most influential books and articles in the field Includes discussions of globalization, region, migration, gender, class and social forces that make up the broad cultural fabric of African American history

The essays in this Handbook, written by leading scholars working in the rapidly developing field of witchcraft studies, explore the historical literature regarding witch beliefs and witch trials in Europe and colonial America between the early fifteenth and early eighteenth centuries.

A Companion to American Indian History captures the thematic breadth of Native American history over the last forty years. Twenty-five original essays by leading scholars in the field, both American Indian and non-American Indian, bring an exciting modern perspective to Native American histories that were at one time related exclusively by Euro-American settlers. Contains 25 original essays by leading experts in Native American history. Covers the breadth of American Indian history, including contacts with settlers, religion, family, economy, law, education, gender issues, and culture. Surveys and evaluates the best scholarship on every important era and topic. Summarizes current debates and anticipates future concerns.

This book presents twenty chapters by experts in their fields, providing a thorough and interdisciplinary overview of the theory and practice of magic in the West.

America Bewtiched is the first major history of witchcraft in America - from the Salem witch trials of 1692 to the present day.

Focusing on witchcraft reports and trials outside of Salem and utilizing case histories and psychological analyses, this study evaluates the incidents and trials within the context of late-seventeenth-century New England

A recently discovered collection of folktales celebrating African American oral tradition, community, and faith..."splendidly vivid and true."--New York Times Every Tongue Got to Confess is an extensive volume of African American folklore that Zora Neale Hurston collected on her travels through the Gulf States in the late 1920s. The bittersweet and often hilarious taleswhich range from longer narratives about God, the Devil, White Folk, and Mistaken Identity to witty one-linersreveal attitudes about faith, love, family, slavery, race, and community. Together, this collection of nearly 500 folktales weaves a vibrant tapestry that celebrates the African American life in the rural South and represent a major part of Zora Neale Hurstons literary legacy.

Finalist for the HWA's Bram Stoker Award for Best Anthology Named one of the Best Books of the Year by Slate and the San Francisco Chronicle.

"Of Mr. Machen's horror-tales the most famous is perhaps 'The Great God Pan' (1894) which tells of a singular and terrible experiment and its consequences."-H. P. Lovecraft

Spanning three centuries, this collection traces the historical evolution of legends, folktales, and traditions of four major native American groups from their earliest encounters with European settlers to the present.

In this collection of documents from the French, British, Spanish, and Portuguese empires, Slavery, Freedom, and the Law in the Atlantic World introduces the voices of slaves, slave-holders, jurists, legislators, and others, struggling to critique, overturn, justify, or simply describe the social order in which they found themselves during this era.

Marie Laveau was known as the Voodoo Queen of New Orleans. In the mid-1800s, many people in New Orleans believed that voodoo practitioners could contact the spirits of the dead to ask for their help. Marie Laveau was said to use magical charms and potions to place or remove curses on those she wished to help or harm! Did this voodoo priestess really have the power to contact the spirit world and cast spells? An exciting narrative format brings a fascinating period of American history to life, with plenty of creepy details to satisfy young horror fans. Chilling photos and illustrations and clear, age-appropriate text will keep readers turning the pages to discover the secrets of the voodoo queen.