The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of American Urban History. Edited by one of the leading scholars of urban studies, David Goldfield, this Encyclopedia offers an accurate and authoritative historical approach to the dramatic urban growth experienced in the United States during the 20th century.
With well over 300 contributors and 500 entries, Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Urban History synthesizes three generations of urban historical scholarship, providing a thematic and chronological overview of American urban history from the pre-Columbian era until the beginning decades of the twenty-first century.
ChicagoAncestors.org is a project of the Genealogy and Local History section of the Newberry (link is external), an independent research library in Chicago. The project is intended to help genealogists and local historians discover and share historical information about Chicago.
The DuSable Museum promotes understanding and appreciation of the achievements, contributions,
and experiences of African Americans through exhibits, programs, and activities that illustrate African and African American history, culture and art.
Full-text of the newspaper from 1894-1994. Articles can be displayed individually or in a page map, which displays the article in its original context as printed on the page. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide, from 1909-1975. Articles can be displayed individually or in a page map, which displays the article in its original context as printed on the page. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full text access to over 5,000 journals.
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history.
AustinTalks – a project of Columbia College Chicago’s journalism program – seeks to reflect this richness and provide the residents of Chicago’s most-populated neighborhood with news and information not available anywhere else.