PSCI 361 - Political Research

"The world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war." The data are "systematically collected, have global coverage, are comparable across cases and countries, and have long time series which are updated annually."

"Records the dates, actors, types of violence, locations, and fatalities of all reported political violence and protest events across Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Central Asia and the Caucasus, and Southeastern and Eastern Europe and the Balkans. Political violence and protest activity includes events that occur within civil wars and periods of instability, public demonstrations, and regime breakdown."

"Includes protests, riots, strikes, inter-communal conflict, government violence against civilians, and other forms of social conflict not systematically tracked in other conflict datasets. SCAD currently includes information social conflicts from 1990-2017, covering all of Africa and now also Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean."

Includes datasets on topics such as forcibly displaced populations, major episodes of political violence, and high casualty terrorist bombings.

Includes datasets on topics such as territorial change, intergovernmental organizations, formal alliances, and militarized interstate disputes.

Collects "data on three types of issues: territorial, river, maritime, and regime claims."

"Measures reports of the conflict-related sexual violence committed by armed actors during the years 1989-2015. The armed actors include government forces, pro-government militias, and rebel groups between 1989-2009 (SVAC 1.0), and government forces and rebel groups for 2010-2015 (SVAC 2.0). The dataset includes information about the prevalence, perpetrators and forms of the reported sexual violence by each armed actor in each conflict-year."

"Includes data on armed conflict and contention from 156 countries (1969-2017), from 21 data sources, including both large data collections and individual scholars. The data are available as individual events, and as analysis-ready spatial panel datasets. To facilitate comparisons across countries and sources, xSub organizes these data into common units of analysis, by space (country, province, district, grid cell, electoral constituency) and time (year, month, week, day)."

"Provides detailed dyadic information on electoral violence in 101 countries between 1995 and 2013."

Includes a variety of global security databases on topics such as: multilateral peace operations, military expenditures, and arms transfers.

"Drawing from archival UN records, the International Peace Institute Peacekeeping Database presents the first publicly available database of total uniformed personnel contributions of each contributing country by month, by type (troop, police, or expert/observer) and by mission, from November 1990 to present. The data is updated monthly."

"Qualitative and quantitative longitudinal data on the implementation of 34 Comprehensive Peace Agreements (CPAs) negotiated between 1989 and 2012. The population of agreements is ‘comprehensive’ in two dimensions: (1) the major parties to the conflict were involved in the negotiations that led to the written agreement; and (2) the substantive issues underlying the conflict were included in the negotiations."

Contains "information for all crises occurring during the 1918-2015 period. The datasets include information on 476 international crises and 1052 crisis actors. There are 35 protracted conflicts."

Datasets on "international organizations, diplomatic exchange (embassies), and treaties monitored by the United Nations."

Compiles a comprehensive listing, documentation, and categorization of coups for 165 countries in the post World War II era.

"Contains standards-based quantitative information on government respect for 15 internationally recognized human rights for 202 countries, annually from 1981-2011."

"A global dataset that describes, in quantitative terms, the deliberate killing of non-combatant civilians in the context of a wider political conflict." Coverage from January 1995 through the present. Data in Excel.

"Meas­ures levels of polit­ic­al vi­ol­ence and ter­ror that a coun­try ex­per­i­ences in a par­tic­u­lar year based on a 5-level “ter­ror scale” ori­gin­ally de­veloped by Free­dom House. The data used in com­pil­ing this in­dex comes from three dif­fer­ent sources: the yearly coun­try re­ports of Am­nesty In­ter­na­tion­al, the U.S. State De­part­ment Coun­try Re­ports on Hu­man Rights Prac­tices, and Human Rights Watch’s World Re­ports."

Includes "information on domestic and international terrorist attacks around the world from 1970 through 2018...For each event, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and–when identifiable–the group or individual responsible."

"Provides comprehensive information on international and domestic terrorism." Coverage: 1968-2009.

"Identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide." Covers Afghanistan, Colombia, Iraq, Mexico, Pakistan, the Philippines, and Vietnam