PSCI 361 - Political Research

This comprehensive work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. The encylopedia reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. It supports all of the core undergraduate courses in political science: American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods.

This dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. It embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, and schools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.

The Encyclopedia of Political Communication discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. With nearly 600 entries, this resource pays considerable attention to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites. The audiences for political communications are also central, necessitating concentration on citizen reactions to political messages, how the general public and voters in democratic systems respond to political messages, and the effects of all types of media and message types.

This work serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories & the theorists behind them, presenting the theories in the context needed to understand both strengths & weaknesses.

Explores pertinent/salient topics within political science, sociology, psychology, communication and many other disciplines.

This encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events,organizations, theories, and much more. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced with other useful points of interest within the encyclopedia.

This work provides an authoritative overview of the composition of public opinion in America, the methodologies by which public opinion is measured, and the importance of polling to U.S. politics, policy, and culture. It includes major and emerging theories and concepts; historical and current methodologies; political, journalistic, and corporate uses; landmark events and developments in the history of polling; and influential people and organizations. It shows American polling trends over the years on major political issues through informative tables, graphs, and charts.

With respect to the countries of the world, this work addresses two basic questions: "How does religion affect politics in this country?" and "How does politics affect religion in this country?"

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior.

This book examines three aspects of the use of social media for political activism: the degrees of media freedom practiced in countries around the world; the methods by which governments attempt to block access to information; and the various ways in which activists use the media--especially social media--to advance their cause of greater freedoms.

Contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world. Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics reflecting significant social and political changes -from the French revolution, to the Chinese Communist Revolution, the global women's movement, to the Arab Spring, and from the American civil rights movement to contemporary environmentalism.

This book provides an encyclopedic sourcebook on the evolution of women's involvement in American politics from the colonial era to the present, covering all of the individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have collectively served to elevate the role of women at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in state- and city-level political offices across the country. The entries cover a range of women politicians and officials; female activists and media figures; relevant organizations and interest groups, such as Emily's List, League of Women Voters, and National Right to Life; key laws, court cases, and events, such as the Nineteenth Amendment, the Equal Rights Amendment, the Seneca Falls Convention, the passage of Title IX, and Roe v. Wade; and other topics, like media coverage of appearance, women's roles as campaign strategists/fundraisers, gender differences in policy priorities, and the gender gap in political ambitions. Offers both historical and current primary documents on the evolution of women in politics

Covering East, South, Southeast, and Central Asia, this handbook covers the political histories, institutions, economies, and cultures of the region.

Voting Rights: A Reference Handbook chronicles voting rights in the United States, from the colonial period to the present. Following a historical overview is an examination of current controversies in addition to profiles of key persons and reprint important documents. The book also includes a perspectives chapter featuring ten original essays on various topics related to voting rights, as well as an annotated bibliography and chronology.