Research Guides: Outdoor and Adventure Leadership: Doing Research

When searching primarily for journal articles (some books are also indexed):

USE a subject-specific database if your topic is related to a specific field like Bible/theology, psychology, sociology, or anthropology.
USE ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (referred to generically as ATLA) when looking at spiritual formation and related research topics.
- For a more precise search, put a name or phrase in quotes. e.g "john smith", "calvary chapel"
USE Google Scholar to search broadly.
- Using Google Scholar Advanced Features Video
- Make sure to set up Google Scholar to link to library databases to access full text and/or place an ILLiad (interlibrary loan) request

When searching primarily for books:

In order to find books in the library, you can browse the shelves or you can use the new Library Search (see below). If you’re only interested in what is located at the HoneyRock Library, after you input your search, look for the Location filter on the lefthand side and select “HoneyRock Library, Wisconsin.” To limit to ebooks or other online content, look for the Availability > “Available online” filter.
USE Google. Limit your searches in Google to include only organizational sites by including "site:.org" with your keywords when searching.

Whether you start in a specific database or with Google Scholar, the best research strategy is to use the iterative research process. This process is one where you perform multiple searches, refining your research criteria based on what you find. Each iteration will take you closer to your desired goal.

Consider installing and using Zotero, software that you can use to organize your citations and help with writing and citing.

Step-by-step guide to Installing and using Zotero

Resources to help you evaluate information you find:

Use the CRAAP Test for evaluating resources

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask

Steps and Guidelines for effectively evaluating websites. (From UC-Berkeley)

Consult the Qualitative Research Guide

The Guide provides:

An overview of qualitative research including data collection techniques and data analysis.
How to use qualitative software like QDA Miner lite, easy to use software for coding and data analysis.
- QDA Miner lite is FREE "lite" version of a flagship product. Although designed to run on a PC, you can use free software to create an app that will run on a MAC. You will find installation information in the guide.
Other FREE software like Tams Analyzer, developed specifically for the MAC, is available but is more difficult to learn than QDA Miner lite.

Consult these resources to help you write your literature review.

Lit Review 101 - Virginia Commonwealth University
- Visualizing "the literature" and "the review"
- Example
Research Rundowns is a blog about research methods in educational settings, a resource on how to read, conduct, and write research. It includes a page about writing a literature review. Supported by the Dewar College of Education at Valdosta State University.
- Writing a Literature Review

Short 3-minute video explaining how to synthesize literature when writing a literature review

The Wheaton College writing center (located on the 1st floor of Buswell Library) has resources to help you with writing and formatting your paper.

Zotero is a reference manager that can not only hell you organize your research resource but it can also help you with formatting in-text citations and your bibliography.

Citation style guides

Spiritual Disciplines Handbook

One particular book that is a must read for multiple courses is Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (2015) by Adele Calhoun. We have it available through the following link. Please contact Steve Oberg if you need any help with accessing it.

Spiritual Disciplines Handbook by Adele Ahlberg Calhoun Maybe you long for a more intimate prayer life or deeper insight from God's Word but just don't know how to get there. Or maybe you want to learn about new spiritual disciplines like visio divina, unplugging or attentiveness.In Spiritual Disciplines Handbook Adele Calhoun gives us directions for our continuing journey toward intimacy with Christ. While the word discipline may make us want to run and hide, the author shows how desires and discipline work together to lead us to the transformation we're longing for--the transformation only Christ can bring. Instead of just giving information about spiritual disciplines, this handbook is full of practical, accessible guidance that helps you actually practice them.With over 80,000 copies in print, this well-loved catalog of seventy-five disciplines has been revised throughout and expanded to include thirteen new disciplines along with a new preface by the author.Mothers, fathers, plumbers, nurses, students--we're all on a journey. And spiritual disciplines are for all of us who desire to know Christ deeply and be like him. Here is direction for our desire, leading us to the ultimate destination: more of Christ himself.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780830899111
Publication Date: 2015-11-19