Databases
Although APA PsycINFO is an American Psychological Association (APA) database, and is considered the primary database for psychology research, you may want to search additional databases depending on your topic.
Two other databases that can be helpful for certain topics:
Complete list of databases that may have resources relevant to your research topic.
Online Reference Resources
General Psychology
Encyclopedia of Human Memory by
Providing clear, comprehensible information for general readers, this three-volume, A-Z encyclopedia covers the major theories and findings associated with our understanding of human memory and some of the crippling disorders associated with memory malfunction. This encyclopedia comprehensively addresses one of the most critical components of human intelligence--memory. Comprising approximately 500 A-Z entries written by experts who have studied memory and its impacts, the work defines complex terminology for lay readers and includes answers to the most common questions regarding human memory. Readers will gain an understanding of the various psychological and physiological systems of memory, such as short-term or procedural memory; comprehend the principles that underlie effective encoding, storage, and construction of memories; and learn the truth about often misconceptualized conditions like "amnesia" or how our memories are stored in bits and pieces rather than linearly like a recorded tape or video. This set is ideal for high school students writing term papers or studying for advanced examinations such as Advanced Placement (AP) in psychology. The volumes also provide a breadth of information invaluable to family members, friends, and caretakers of individuals who suffer from various memory disorders, including descriptions of major disorders, explanations of specific memory deficits, strategies for memory improvement, and information on the parts of the brain that access and store memory as well as the types of tests used to assess memory loss. Also included are biographies of key contributors to the field of cognitive psychology, and to the area of memory in particular.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories by
This work will survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience. It will set the theories into their historical context and cross-reference key influences, such as Darwin's on Freud. Fifteen hundred entries will comprise key figures, theoretical concepts, false theories, historical events, and seminal writings. International in scope, this project will involve history of psychology experts from around the world and the coverage of topics will be set in global context. The aim will be to provide a reference work of more depth than discussions that are currently available in textbooks, with the ability to connect to a multitude of relevant topics. This work will provide a picture of psychology as it has emerged into the present time and position it among other related fields such as anthropology, sociology, philosophy, and medicine.
Handbook of Cultural Psychology, Second Edition by
Now completely revised (over 90% new), this handbook offers the authoritative presentation of theories, methods, and applications in the dynamic field of cultural psychology. Leading scholars review state-of-the-art empirical research on how culture affects nearly every aspect of human functioning. The volume examines how topics fundamental to psychology--such as cognition, emotion, motivation, development, and mental health--are influenced by cultural meanings and practices. It also addresses the psychological and evolutionary underpinnings of cultural stability and change. The second edition reflects important advances in cultural neuroscience and an increasing emphasis on application, among many other changes. As a special bonus, purchasers of the second edition can download a supplemental e-book featuring several notable, highly cited chapters from the first edition. New to This Edition: *Most chapters are new, reflecting nearly a decade of theoretical and methodological developments. *Cutting-edge perspectives on culture and biology, including innovative neuroscientific and biopsychological research. *Section on economic behavior, with new topics including money, negotiation, consumer behavior, and innovation. *Section on the expansion of cultural approaches into religion, social class, subcultures, and race. *Reflects the growth of real-world applications in such areas as cultural learning and adjustment, health and well-being, and terrorism.
Handbook of Psychology, Set by
Psychology is of interest to academics from many fields, as well as to the thousands of academic and clinical psychologists and general public who can't help but be interested in learning more about why humans think and behave as they do. This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field, discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology. Offers an authoritative review as well as insight into emerging topics in psychology Each volume is the result of the collaboration of leading national and international scholars with expert volume editors to produce chapters on virtually every topic in the subject area, from established theories to the most current research and developments Recognized as the definitive reference work in the field 12 Volumes http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9781118133880
Human Behavior
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by
The Encyclopedia of Adolescence breaks new ground as an important central resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the Encyclopedia of Adolescence - with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format - serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. By making full use of Springer's print and online flexibility, the Encyclopedia is at the forefront of efforts to advance the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society. Substantively, the Encyclopedia draws from four major areas of research relating to adolescence. The first broad area includes research relating to "Self, Identity and Development in Adolescence". This area covers research relating to identity, from early adolescence through emerging adulthood; basic aspects of development (e.g., biological, cognitive, social); and foundational developmental theories. In addition, this area focuses on various types of identity: gender, sexual, civic, moral, political, racial, spiritual, religious, and so forth. The second broad area centers on "Adolescents' Social and Personal Relationships". This area of research examines the nature and influence of a variety of important relationships, including family, peer, friends, sexual and romantic as well as significant nonparental adults. The third area examines "Adolescents in Social Institutions". This area of research centers on the influence and nature of important institutions that serve as the socializing contexts for adolescents. These major institutions include schools, religious groups, justice systems, medical fields, cultural contexts, media, legal systems, economic structures, and youth organizations. "Adolescent Mental Health" constitutes the last major area of research. This broad area of research focuses on the wide variety of human thoughts, actions, and behaviors relating to mental health, from psychopathology to thriving. Major topic examples include deviance, violence, crime, pathology (DSM), normalcy, risk, victimization, disabilities, flow, and positive youth development.
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by
This major reference work breaks new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals. Encyclopedic in breath, textbook in depth, Child Behavior and Development serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. Presented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions. Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development offers an extensive cross-referencing system that facilitates speedy search and retrieval of information.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by
"The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition "is an award-winning three-volume reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts. Written by leading scientists in these disciplines, every article has been peer-reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. The most comprehensive reference source to provide both depth and breadth to the study of human behavior, the encyclopedia will again be a much-used reference source. This set appeals to public, corporate, university and college libraries, libraries in two-year colleges, and some secondary schools. Carefully crafted, well written, and thoroughly indexed, the encyclopedia helps users whether they are students just beginning formal study of the broad field or specialists in a branch of psychology understand the field and how and why humans behave as we do. Named a 2013 Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association's "Choice "publicationConcise entries (ten pages on average) provide foundational knowledge of the fieldEach article features suggested further readings, a list of related websites, a 5-10 word glossary and a definition paragraph, and cross-references to related articles in the encyclopediNewly expanded editorial board and a host of international contributors from the United States, Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Sweden, and the United Kingdom"
Handbook of Personality Development by
Bringing together prominent scholars, this authoritative volume considers the development of personality at multiple levels--from the neuroscience of dispositional traits to the cultural shaping of life stories. Illustrated with case studies and concrete examples, the Handbook integrates areas of research that have often remained disparate. It offers a lifespan perspective on the many factors that influence each individual's psychological makeup and examines the interface of personality development with health, psychopathology, relationships, and the family. Contributors provide broad-based, up-to-date reviews of theories, empirical findings, methodological innovations, and emerging trends. See also the authored volume The Art and Science of Personality Development, by Dan P. McAdams.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
Abnormal and clinical psychology courses are offered in psychology programs at universities worldwide, but the most recent major encyclopedia on the topic was published many years ago. Although general psychology handbooks and encyclopedias include essays on abnormal and clinical psychology, such works do not provide students with an accessible reference for understanding the full scope of the field. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, a 7-volume, A-Z work (print and electronic formats), is such an authoritative work. Its more than 1,400 entries provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology. Key features include: 1,400 signed articles contained in 7 volumes and available in choice of print and/or electronic formats Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically Back matter includes a Chronology, Resource Guide, Bibliography, and detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References between and among entries all combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version.
Counseling
Encyclopedia of Trauma by
Trauma is defined as a sudden, potentially deadly experience, often leaving lasting, troubling memories. Traumatology (the study of trauma, its effects, and methods to modify effects) is exploding in terms of published works and expanding in terms of scope. Originally a narrow specialty within emergency medicine, the field now extends to trauma psychology, military psychiatry and behavioral health, post-traumatic stress and stress disorders, trauma social work, disaster mental health, and, most recently, the subfield of history and trauma, with sociohistorical examination of long-term effects and meanings of major traumas experienced by whole communities and nations, both natural (Pompeii, Hurricane Katrina) and man-made (the Holocaust, 9/11). One reason for this expansion involves important scientific breakthroughs in detecting the neurobiology of trauma that is connecting biology with human behavior, which in turn, is applicable to all fields involving human thought and response, including but not limited to psychiatry, medicine and the health sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, the humanities, and law. Researchers within these fields and more can contribute to a universal understanding of immediate and long-term consequences-both good and bad-of trauma, both for individuals and for broader communities and institutions. Trauma encyclopedias published to date all center around psychological trauma and its emotional effects on the individual as a disabling or mental disorder requiring mental health services. This element is vital and has benefited from scientific and professional breakthroughs in theory, research, and applications. Our encyclopedia certainly will cover this central element, but our expanded conceptualization will include the other disciplines and will move beyond the individual.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
Abnormal and clinical psychology courses are offered in psychology programs at universities worldwide, but the most recent major encyclopedia on the topic was published many years ago. Although general psychology handbooks and encyclopedias include essays on abnormal and clinical psychology, such works do not provide students with an accessible reference for understanding the full scope of the field. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, a 7-volume, A-Z work (print and electronic formats), is such an authoritative work. Its more than 1,400 entries provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology. Key features include: 1,400 signed articles contained in 7 volumes and available in choice of print and/or electronic formats Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically Back matter includes a Chronology, Resource Guide, Bibliography, and detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References between and among entries all combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version.