Provides the full text of all articles published in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition. Now also contains The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. It facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels of music research, with an emphasis on music history, music theory and composition.
Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles.
Provides a very large collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Contains the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, delivered online through streaming video. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.
PA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 7075 texts including 1216 aria texts.
This classic reference work has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid prose, this is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments with historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. Encyclopedia-length articles by notable experts alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments.
This publication takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Although each volume will differ because of the nature of the material, the organization remains consistent throughout all: regional overviews first; music in the social context next; then finally, the musical traditions of individual countries or ethnic groups. Of exceptional value are the CDs that accompany each volume, often with previously unrecorded music, as well as the resource guides, extensive bibliographies, and photographs.
This publication is the best-known single-volume summary of the world of music that was researched and written by one person. Percy Scholes' intention was to produce a work which was of relevance to a wide range of readers, from the professional musician to the concert-goer ... His work was aimed at a reader for whom it "will neither be beyond the scope of his pocket nor embarrass him by a manner of expression so technical as to add new puzzles to the puzzle which sent him to the book". The result was a work which was highly accessible to the general reader, as well as being of use to the specialist. Scholes' style, whilst being scholarly and well-researched, was also sometimes quirky and opinionated [Wikipedia]
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra.
This publication contains 27,000 entries; and it features a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
Nicolas Slonimsky's venerable single-volume reference is now a six-volume set, with better page layout and typeface, and a subject range outside its traditional concentration on classical music. Under new editorship since Slonimsky's death in 1995, coverage has expanded to over 1,000 new entries on classical music and over 2,000 new entries on jazz and popular music. Nice features include reprints of Slonimsky's witty introductions to earlier editions and indexes for genre, nationality, and women composers and musicians.
Daniel's orchestral music is the gold standard among conductors, music programmers, orchestra librarians, and other music professionals -and students- researching an orchestral program, whether for a single concert or a full season. Compositions cover the standard international repertoire for the orchestra; this fifth edition, nearly a decade after the previous one, contains more than 8500 entries
This publication describes selected solo piano compositions of nearly 2000 composers. The author also includes brief biographical sketches of the major composers and presents pertinent facts about many of the others that are relevant to the composers' pianistic and compositional approaches.
Sergius Kagen’s encyclopedic guide to music for the voice has been a standard reference work for singers and teachers for nearly 30 years. For each of several thousand works, the singer can find the compass and tessitura, the vocal type to which the song is suited, as well as remarks on the character or challenges of the piece, with occasional advice to the accompanist. Headnotes give general information on some major composers and important song cycles. This single volume helps the performer find works by hundreds of composers from Europe and America, from the Renaissance through the mid-20th century, and genres ranging from folk airs to bel canto. Entries are arranged by composer within larger categories: Songs and Airs before the 19th Century, Songs of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Folk Songs, and Operatic Extracts. An index of composers makes access to listings even easier.
This publication contains the lyrics and phonetic transcriptions (using the International Phonetic Alphabet) to 413 Italian, French, and German songs. These lyrics have been carefully selected from Coffin's The Singer's Repertoire (1960) and are representative of the most frequently performed vocal repertoire, with songs and arias for all voice classifications.
This music streaming service offers the complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 640 labels. It contains more than 172,000 CD-length recordings equivalent to 2,600,000 tracks uploaded, with addition of over than 800 CD-length recordings every month. And, unlike "free" streaming services, there are no annoying commercials to sit through!
Petrucci Music Library at IMSLP is a project for the creation of a virtual library of public domain music scores and recordings. It now contains over 525,000 scores and 63,000 recordings for over 160,000 works by over 19,000 composers. You can either search for specific pieces, or scan all items by composer, time period, or instrumentation.
Please note: public domain scores are largely published before 1927, and thus they are often not the best or most accurate musical texts, especially of music written before 1800. You should always compare editions you find here with more recently-published editions, available in the Library or through interlibrary loan.
The Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL), is an Internet-based free sheet music website which specializes in choral music. The CPDL a collection of music scores and other supporting files (such as midi or other sound files) which can be freely downloaded and used. Most of the scores on CPDL are modern editions based on older works whose copyright has lapsed (or which are otherwise in the public domain), but some scores are newly composed and offered for download by the composer. You can search by individual piece, scan all the pieces by a particular composer, or do a "multi-category" search to search by time era, genre, voicing.
Please note: as with IMSLP, you should always compare public-domain editions that you find here with more recently-published editions, available in the Library or through interlibrary loan, to be sure you have the most accurate musical text.