Research Guides: Applied Health Science: Recommended Resources

Recommended Databases

One of the most important steps in research is to select the appropriate database for your topic. There are many different kinds of databases out there but you're looking for a bibliographic-type resource that covers the literature of a field. The following databases provide comprehensive coverage for applied health.

Online Reference Resources

Websites

CDC
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
HealthyPeople.gov
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
MedLine Plus
Use MedlinePlus "to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition."
Merck Manual Health Manual
Based on the world's most widely used textbook of medicine—The Merck Manual—but written in everyday language.
National Library of Medicine
Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
Physician's Digital Resource (previously: Physician's Desk Reference)
A resource for current, trusted and credible drug prescribing information. PDR gives providers unprecedented, anytime access to prescribing information in convenient digital tools: mobilePDR, PDR,net and PDR in their EHR for when and where they need it most.
Reports of the Sergeon General
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference

Organizations & Associations

American College of Sports Medicine
The American College of Sports Medicine puts into practice its strategic efforts to advancing the health of all. ACSM is the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world.
American Medical Association
The AMA's mission is to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.
American Physiological Society
The American Physiological Society (APS) is a nonprofit devoted to fostering education, scientific research, and dissemination of information in the physiological sciences. The Society was founded in 1887.
American Public Health Association
"The American Public Health Association is the oldest and most diverse organization of public health professionals in the world and has been working to improve public health since 1872."
American Society for Nutrition
The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing together the world's top researchers, clinical nutritionists and industry to advance our knowledge and application of nutrition for the sake of humans and animals.
SHAPE America
SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals supporting and assisting professionals involved in physical education, recreation, fitness, sport and coaching, dance, health education and promotion, and all specialties related to achieving a healthy and active lifestyle.