Databases
Although APA PsycInfo is an American Psychological Association (APA) database, and is considered the primary database for psychology research, you may want to search additional databases depending on your topic.
Other databases or e-books that can be helpful for certain topics:
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Complete list of databases that may have resources relevant to your research topic.
Counseling Journals
Searching for information directly on a journal's web site may not allow you access to the full text, most journal content requires a paid subscription. Buswell Library purchases subscriptions for you but to access this content you will need to go through the library website/databases.
The main database for psychology information is APA PsycInfo. However, the top journals in the counseling profession are not indexed in APA PsycInfo. You will have to also use other databases when you are doing research.
ACA journals are indexed in Academic Search Complete. Some journals embargo full text for the current year in this database. You can however access the current year full text through the Wiley Online Library.
The Journal of Marital and Family Therapy is indexed in SocINDEX. It also has an embargo on full text for the current year. Access the current year full text through the Wiley Online Library.
Search Consumer Health Complete and Professional Development Collection for additional professional counseling journals.
When searching in any database, remember to click 
to find full text in another database or place an ILLiad (interlibrary loan) request if full text is not available.
Trauma Resources
Along with searching APA PsycInfo for articles there are handbooks and topical books available. The titles below are in print and online. You will also find additional online titles published by APA in the APA PsycBOOKS database.
To find additional online and print books in specific areas of trauma e.g. PSTD, search the library catalog.
APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology by
The two volume APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology is the most comprehensive guide, text, and reference work on the subject to date. It provides a survey of all the major areas and subtopics of empirical knowledge and practical applications in the field of trauma psychology, written by top experts in the field. Volume 1 is divided into sections on the nature of trauma, its psychological impact, major conceptual frameworks for understanding traumatization, and trauma as viewed from the diverse perspective of various disciplines. Volume 2 covers various applications of trauma psychology, including various modalities of trauma assessment, major treatment approaches across the lifespan, and multi-client and organizational practice. Also available Online in APA PsycBOOKs database. APA PsycBOOKS
Facilitating Resilience and Recovery Following Trauma by
This volume synthesizes cutting-edge research on natural processes of resilience and recovery, highlighting implications for trauma treatment and prevention. Prominent experts examine what enables many trauma survivors to heal over time without intervention, as well what causes others to develop long-term psychiatric problems. Identifying key, modifiable risk and resilience factors--such as cognitions and beliefs, avoidance, pain, and social support--the book provides recommendations for when (and when not) to intervene to promote recovery.
Spiritually Oriented Psychotherapy for Trauma by
This book addresses a wide range of different client presenting problems, with a specific focus on relational forms of trauma, such as sexual abuse, partner violence, and other familial forms of trauma. It includes case studies that highlight how to assess and help clients process these and other types of trauma, including war and natural disasters. The case studies illustrate multiple facets of spirituality rather than explaining it as merely a source of anxiety reduction, social connectedness, or control.
Trauma, Meaning, and Spirituality by
This volume helps mental health practitioners understand the important relationship between trauma and spirituality, and how to best help survivors create meaning out of their experiences. Drawing on relevant theories and research, the authors present a new conceptual framework, the Reciprocal Meaning-Making Model, demonstrating how it can guide both assessment and treatment. Through the use of case material, the authors examine a range of spiritual views, traumas, and posttraumatic reactions that are reflective of the population as a whole rather than targeting only specific religions or cultural perspectives.
Treating Trauma in Christian Counseling by
This book is a combined effort to introduce counseling approaches, trauma information, and Christian reflections to respond to the intense suffering people face. With extensive experience treating complex trauma, The key essays representing the latest psychological research on trauma from a Christian integration perspective. There is an overview of the kinds of traumatic experiences, coverage of treatment methods, especially those that incorporate spirituality., material to critically analyze as well as emotionally engage trauma, and the theoretical bases for trauma treatment and interventions.
Online Reference Resources
General
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories by
This work will survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience. It will set the theories into their historical context and cross-reference key influences, such as Darwin's on Freud. Fifteen hundred entries will comprise key figures, theoretical concepts, false theories, historical events, and seminal writings. International in scope, this project will involve history of psychology experts from around the world and the coverage of topics will be set in global context. The aim will be to provide a reference work of more depth than discussions that are currently available in textbooks, with the ability to connect to a multitude of relevant topics. This work will provide a picture of psychology as it has emerged into the present time and position it among other related fields such as anthropology, sociology, philosophy, and medicine.
Handbook of Cultural Psychology, Second Edition by
Now completely revised (over 90% new), this handbook offers the authoritative presentation of theories, methods, and applications in the dynamic field of cultural psychology. Leading scholars review state-of-the-art empirical research on how culture affects nearly every aspect of human functioning. The volume examines how topics fundamental to psychology--such as cognition, emotion, motivation, development, and mental health--are influenced by cultural meanings and practices. It also addresses the psychological and evolutionary underpinnings of cultural stability and change. The second edition reflects important advances in cultural neuroscience and an increasing emphasis on application, among many other changes. As a special bonus, purchasers of the second edition can download a supplemental e-book featuring several notable, highly cited chapters from the first edition. New to This Edition: *Most chapters are new, reflecting nearly a decade of theoretical and methodological developments. *Cutting-edge perspectives on culture and biology, including innovative neuroscientific and biopsychological research. *Section on economic behavior, with new topics including money, negotiation, consumer behavior, and innovation. *Section on the expansion of cultural approaches into religion, social class, subcultures, and race. *Reflects the growth of real-world applications in such areas as cultural learning and adjustment, health and well-being, and terrorism.
Encyclopedia of Human Memory by
Providing clear, comprehensible information for general readers, this three-volume, A-Z encyclopedia covers the major theories and findings associated with our understanding of human memory and some of the crippling disorders associated with memory malfunction. This encyclopedia comprehensively addresses one of the most critical components of human intelligence--memory. Comprising approximately 500 A-Z entries written by experts who have studied memory and its impacts, the work defines complex terminology for lay readers and includes answers to the most common questions regarding human memory. Readers will gain an understanding of the various psychological and physiological systems of memory, such as short-term or procedural memory; comprehend the principles that underlie effective encoding, storage, and construction of memories; and learn the truth about often misconceptualized conditions like "amnesia" or how our memories are stored in bits and pieces rather than linearly like a recorded tape or video. This set is ideal for high school students writing term papers or studying for advanced examinations such as Advanced Placement (AP) in psychology. The volumes also provide a breadth of information invaluable to family members, friends, and caretakers of individuals who suffer from various memory disorders, including descriptions of major disorders, explanations of specific memory deficits, strategies for memory improvement, and information on the parts of the brain that access and store memory as well as the types of tests used to assess memory loss. Also included are biographies of key contributors to the field of cognitive psychology, and to the area of memory in particular.
Human Behavior
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by
The second edition of this encyclopedia continues to break new ground as an important resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the second edition - with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format - serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new research and knowledge long before such information trickles down to standard textbooks. This updated and expanded major reference work advances the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society. In addition to the original 730 entries, the new edition adds more than 200 new essays as well as updates to many other entries. Substantively, the second edition continues to draw from four major areas of research relating to adolescence: The first broad area includes research relating to "Self, Identity and Development in Adolescence" The second broad area centers on "Adolescents' Social and Personal Relationships". The third area examines "Adolescents in Social Institutions". "Adolescent Mental Health" constitutes the last major area of research.This unique, comprehensive second edition of the Encyclopedia of Adolescence is an essential reference for advanced undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers, professors, clinicians, and other practitioners across such related disciplines as developmental psychology, criminology and criminal Justice, adolescent psychiatry, child and school psychology, family, and public health.
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by
This major reference work breaks new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals. Encyclopedic in breath, textbook in depth, Child Behavior and Development serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. Presented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions. Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development offers an extensive cross-referencing system that facilitates speedy search and retrieval of information.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by
"The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition "is an award-winning three-volume reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts. Written by leading scientists in these disciplines, every article has been peer-reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. The most comprehensive reference source to provide both depth and breadth to the study of human behavior, the encyclopedia will again be a much-used reference source. This set appeals to public, corporate, university and college libraries, libraries in two-year colleges, and some secondary schools. Carefully crafted, well written, and thoroughly indexed, the encyclopedia helps users whether they are students just beginning formal study of the broad field or specialists in a branch of psychology understand the field and how and why humans behave as we do. Named a 2013 Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association's "Choice "publicationConcise entries (ten pages on average) provide foundational knowledge of the fieldEach article features suggested further readings, a list of related websites, a 5-10 word glossary and a definition paragraph, and cross-references to related articles in the encyclopediNewly expanded editorial board and a host of international contributors from the United States, Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Sweden, and the United Kingdom"
Handbook of Personality Development by
Bringing together prominent scholars, this authoritative volume considers the development of personality at multiple levels--from the neuroscience of dispositional traits to the cultural shaping of life stories. Illustrated with case studies and concrete examples, the Handbook integrates areas of research that have often remained disparate. It offers a lifespan perspective on the many factors that influence each individual's psychological makeup and examines the interface of personality development with health, psychopathology, relationships, and the family. Contributors provide broad-based, up-to-date reviews of theories, empirical findings, methodological innovations, and emerging trends. See also the authored volume The Art and Science of Personality Development, by Dan P. McAdams.
Counseling
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Encyclopedia of Psychopharmacology by
Psychopharmacology is the study of the effects of psychoactive drugs on the functioning of the central nervous system at all levels of analysis, thus embracing cognition, behavior, psychological states, neurophysiology, neurochemistry, gene expression, and molecular biology. It includes, as an integral part of its domain, the interaction of environmental and genetic factors with psychoactive drug action, the medicinal and social uses of drugs, and the misuse and abuse of psychoactive substances. The aim of this comprehensive encyclopedia is to provide detailed information on psychopharmacology and its sub-disciplines, such as clinical psychopharmacology, molecular neuropsychopharmacology, behavioral pharmacology in laboratory animals, preclinical psychopharmacology, and human experimental psychopharmacology. The wide-ranging entries in the Encyclopedia of Psychopharmacology are written by leading experts drawn from a broad diversity of backgrounds and areas of specialization. The entries, comprehensive but succinct, provide basic and clinical scientists in academia, as well as industry, with the most important and relevant information on recent developments in psychopharmacology and its closely allied disciplines. The essential information about the field contained in these entries is readily accessible to clinicians, scholars, students, teachers, and interested laypeople.
Encyclopedia of Trauma by
This timely and authoritative two-volume set includes hundreds of signed entries by experts in the field of traumatology, exploring traditional subjects as well as emerging ideas, as well as providing further resources for study and exploration.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly. Assessment methodology discussed includes formal testing, interviewing, and observation of behavior. The handbook also discusses assessment of personality and behavior, including intelligence, aptitude, interest, achievement, personality and psychopathology. New coverage includes use of assessments in forensic applications.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology
Abnormal and clinical psychology courses are offered in psychology programs at universities worldwide, but the most recent major encyclopedia on the topic was published many years ago. Although general psychology handbooks and encyclopedias include essays on abnormal and clinical psychology, such works do not provide students with an accessible reference for understanding the full scope of the field. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, a 7-volume, A-Z work (print and electronic formats), will be such an authoritative work. Its more than 1,400 entries will provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology. Key features include: 1,400 signed articles contained in 7 volumes and available in choice of print and/or electronic formats although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader’s Guide grouping related entries thematically back matter includes a Chronology, Resource Guide, Bibliography, and detailed Index entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries the Index, Reader’s Guide themes, and Cross References between and among entries all combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family, and Couples Counseling by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family and Couples Counseling is a new, all-encompassing, landmark work for researchers seeking to broaden their knowledge of this vast and diffuse field. Marriage and family counseling programs are established at institutions worldwide, yet there is no current work focused specifically on family therapy. While other works have discussed various methodologies, cases, niche aspects of the field and some broader views of counseling in general, this authoritative Encyclopedia provides readers with a fully comprehensive and accessible reference to aid in understanding the full scope and diversity of theories, approaches and techniques and how they address various life events within the unique dynamics of families, couples and related interpersonal relationships. Key topics include: Adolescence Adoption Assessment Communication Coping Diversity Divorce and Separation Interventions and Techniques Life Events/Transitions Parenting Styles Sexuality Work/Life Issues, and more Key features include: More than 500 signed articles written by key figures in the field span four comprehensive volumes Front matter includes a Reader's Guide that groups related entries thematically Back matter includes a history of the development of the field, a Resource Guide to key associations, websites, journals, a selected Bibliography of classic publications, and a detailed Index All entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries to aid the reader in their research journey