BITH 211: Bible dictionaries

Print copies of the ABD are in Buswell's Reading Room. Click on the hyperlinked title above to access the ABD online. Draws on experts in archaeology to provide information on such aspects of the Bible as cultural history, folklore in the ancient Near East, travel and communication, music, and even the use of computers in Biblical studies.

The Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible series is a monumental reference work, consisting of eight two-volume sets and containing over one thousand comprehensive essays by scholars from many countries and with a wide variety of perspectives.

Provides authoritative overviews exploring the major themes and issues of the Pentateuch.

150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Provides introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. [Publisher]

Each book's historical, cultural, religious and literary background is thoroughly covered, alongside articles on interpretation history and critical method. [Publisher]

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books offers in-depth articles focused on key topics, many of them written by noted experts. The history of Israel forms the skeletal structure of the Old Testament. Understanding this history and the biblical books that trace it is essential to comprehending the Bible.

Sets out for readers the wealth of Jewish and Greco-Roman background to inform our reading and understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity.

Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. Among other benefits, it allows multiple opportunities for each of the Gospels to be weighed and heard in its own voice.

Contains over two hundred alphabetically arranged articles on topics related to Pauline literature and theology, and includes cross-references, bibliographies, and subject and scripture indexes.

The third of IVP's critically acclaimed series of dictionaries of the New Testament provides focused study on the often-neglected portions of the New Testament: Acts, Hebrews, the General Epistles and Revelation. Furthermore, its scope goes beyond the life of the New Testament church to include the work of the apostolic fathers and early Christianity up through the middle of the second century.