Research Guides: Evangelism and Leadership: Doing Research

When searching primarily for journal articles (some books are also indexed):

USE a subject-specific database if your topic is related to a specific field like Bible/theology, psychology, sociology, or anthropology.
USE Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS (referred to generically as Atla) when looking at spiritual formation and related research topics.
- For a more precise search, put a name or phrase in quotes. e.g "john smith", "calvary chapel"
USE Google Scholar to search broadly.
- Using Google Scholar Advanced Features Video
- Make sure to set up Google Scholar to link to library databases to access full text and/or place an ILLiad (interlibrary loan) request

When searching primarily for books:

USE the following search:
USE the library home page (enter your search in the Discover tab) to search broadly for books and ebooks. Use the facets on the left to limit your results to ebooks.
- Note: You will also find articles from general use databases like Academic Search Complete when using this search.

When searching for information provided by organizations:

USE Google. Limit your searches in Google to include only organizational sites by including "site:.org" with your keywords when searching.

Whether you start in a specific database or with Google Scholar, the best research strategy is to use the iterative research process. This process is one where you perform multiple searches, refining your research criteria based on what you find. Each iteration will take you closer to your desired goal.

Consider installing and using Zotero, software that you can use to organize your citations and help with writing and citing.

Step-by-step guide to Installing and using Zotero

Resources to help you evaluate information you find:

Use the CRAAP Test for evaluating resources

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask

Steps and Guidelines for effectively evaluating websites. (From UC-Berkeley)

Consult the Qualitative Research Guide

The Guide provides:

An overview of qualitative research including data collection techniques and data analysis.
How to use qualitative software like QDA Miner lite, easy to use software for coding and data analysis.
- QDA Miner lite is FREE "lite" version of a flagship product. Although designed to run on a PC, you can use free software to create an app that will run on a MAC. You will find installation information in the guide.
Other FREE software like Tams Analyzer, developed specifically for the MAC, is available but is more difficult to learn than QDA Miner lite.

Consult these resources to help you write your literature review.

Lit Review 101 - Virginia Commonwealth University
- Visualizing "the literature" and "the review"
- Example
Research Rundowns is a blog about research methods in educational settings, a resource on how to read, conduct, and write research. It includes a page about writing a literature review. Supported by the Dewar College of Education at Valdosta State University.
- Writing a Literature Review

Short 3-minute video explaining how to synthesize literature when writing a literature review

The Wheaton College Writing Center (located on the 1st floor of the library) has resources to help you with writing and formatting your paper.

Zotero is a reference manager that can not only help you organize your research resource but it can also help you with formatting in-text citations and your bibliography.

Citation style guides