Research Guides: Geology &amp; Environmental Science: Recommended Resources

Databases

The following databases provide comprehensive coverage for geology and environmental science.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
References and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, covering North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports related to the relationship between human beings and the environment.

USGS Library Catalog
The USGS catalog is searchable. If you find a resource that you cannot access, you can check the Buswell catalog to see if we have access, or you can request via interlibrary loan. If you have questions, email cathy.troupos@wheaton.edu

Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles and access to article references in the natural sciences, including geology and environmental science.
For more help on searching in Web of Science, view the Web of Science Search Tips Video

The following websites provide data, reports, and other information from government and professional agencies.

Ecological Society of American
Founded in 1915 to promote ecological science. The website provides access to open-access environmental journals, as well as information about events and activism.
Environmental Protections Agency (EPA) Envirofacts
Links to data sets about air, waste, water, radiation, land and toxins.
USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau
USGS Sciencebase
A scientific data and information management platform used directly by science teams. ScienceBase provides access to aggregated information derived from many data and information domains, including feeds from existing data systems, metadata catalogs, and scientists contributing new and original content.
EPA National Library Catalog
The EPA National Library Catalog consists of several related databases that comprise a shared catalog. Use the catalog to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics.

Geology and Environmental Science Reference Sources
Click here to see the reference sources available through Buswell Library.