Research Guides: TESOL: Finding Scholarly Sources

Browse Journals

Browsing scholarly journals can be a helpful way to find a topic. Consider browsing TESOL or Education journals.

Recommended Databases

Depending on your topic, you will want to explore different databases. Multi-disciplinary databases are a good starting place for interdisciplinary topics.

Academic Search Complete

Start with subject-specific databases if your topic is associated with a discipline like theology, sociology, or education. Below are some examples. You can find more subject-specific databases on the library home page under the database tab. Select search by discipline.

APA PsychInfo
Provides citations of journal articles and other resources in psychology.
ATLA
Provides citations of resources in religion and theology.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to citations pertaining to communication theory.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Find journal articles in education and other education-related documents.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations of journal articles and other resources in the discipline of English and linguistics.
SocIndex
Provides coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Web of Science
Includes the Social Science Index, which has citations for education, communications, linguistics, and other social sciences.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way to find scholarly articles or book citations. After searching, look for features in your results that can help you find related articles:

The Cited By feature will show you who cited an article so you can follow the citation trail.
Click Related Articles to find other articles on topic.

You can connect Google Scholar with the Library to easily access or request articles right from your Google Scholar search. See these instructions:

Connecting the Library to Google Scholar