Experimental Psychology - PSYC 317 - Developmental Psychology

Tutorial Assignment

Take this tutorial to learn about the resources available in psychology and related disciplines at the library for your research project.

Interactive tutorial - resources in psychology and related disciplines

Psychology and Related Discipline Resources

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides citations of journal articles and other resources in psychology, and the psychological aspects of other disciplines.
APA PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of all books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) which includes, among other titles, the APA Handbooks in Psychology and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles in education and citations of other education-related documents.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Bible Theology Resources

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Provides citations of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and dissertations in religion, biblical studies, and theology, as well as the religious aspects of other disciplines.

Databases for Finding Social, Political, and Cultural Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text for thousands of publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations of journal articles in Political Science.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Titles in this database include: The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, all searchable on the ProQuest platform.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Citation Mining

Citation mining or searching is important because it allows you to trace research on a topic over time. It allows you to enter into the "scholarly conversation" about a topic. In the sciences and social sciences, science builds on the science of others.

Use the references in the back of an article to look at research that informs the research of an article in-hand.
Use a citation database such as the Web of Science or the "cited by" link in Google Scholar to find research that was informed by the research of an article in-hand.

In Web of Science:

use the times cited to trace research forward. Who has used this research to build their own research?
look at the cited references to trace research backwards. What research did this researcher think was important?
select related records to find related research based on shared citations. Who is doing similar research?