Resources

Enter a search term(s) in the box below to get started with Library Search.

To find books on the political history of a country, copy the following search string and paste it into the search box, then edit your country name.
- [country name] politics and government
You can also try keywords specific to your country. For example, if you're researching Egypt, you could try the word Coptic, or if you're researching Nigeria, you could try Boko Haram or Fulani.
Narrow the results by date to find more recent sources.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations of journal articles in Political Science.

When using Political Science Complete to find articles, try using one of the following terms as a subject search:
- Freedom of religion
- Church & state
- Religion & state
Then add your country name as a keyword:

U.S. Newsstream
The best source for U.S. news content.Try searching for christian persecution [country name] or religious freedom [country name].
New York Times
Provides access to both current and historical content dating back to 1850. Viewable online and through mobile app. First time users must register. For more info, visit: https://wheaton.libanswers.com/faq/266295.
Nexis Uni
The best source for finding full text of many newspapers published in other countries. Good for researching current discussions on religious persecution. Try searching for christian persecution [country name] or religious freedom [country name].
WorldWatch Monitor
News stories of persecuted Christians around the world. Searchable by country.
Morning Star News
An independent news service focusing exclusively on persecution of Christians
Persecution.org
Can search for persecution-related news items. Limit the search results to the country you're researching.
Christian Today
Includes several news items on persecution and religious freedom around the world. Search by country name to find relevant stories.
Freedom of Religion or Belief Newsletters - Human Rights Without Frontiers
Annual newsletters on religious freedom organized by country.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
International Religious Freedom Report
From the U.S. Dept. of State. Choose the desired year, then find the Countries/Regions tab and choose your country of interest.
United States Commission on International Religious Freedom
Includes annual reports that describe religious persecution in various countries and outline United States policies.
Human Rights and Democracy Reports - United Kingdom Government
Reports on the activities of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) to promote human rights abroad. Includes sections on countries of concern, some of which have reports on religious persecution and the UK response.
FDSys
Online repository of United States government documents. Try searching for key words such as human rights, religious freedom, or persecution plus your country's name.
European Union Annual Reports on Human Rights and Democratisation
The reports include a section on the EU's work on religious freedom along with sections on various countries.

Don't limit yourself to the NGOs and research centers in this list, as they are only a small sample. Try finding some on your own as well.

Pew Research Center - Religious Restrictions
Offers reports on religious persecution around the world, including statistical data.
Jubilee Campaign
A non-profit organization that promotes the human rights and religious liberty of ethnic and religious minorities
International Christian Concern
Works to alleviate Christian persecution around the world.
Human Rights Watch
Try searching for "Christian," then limit by country.
Religious Freedom Project - Berkley Center for Religion, Peace & World Affairs
Research program devoted to the analysis of religious freedom. Links to related publications, many of which are available full-text.
Institute for Global Engagement
This NGO " works at the critical intersection of religion and global affairs, building sustainable environments for religious freedom worldwide."
Center for Religious Freedom - Hudson Institute
"Promotes religious freedom as a component of U.S. foreign policy by working with a worldwide network of religious freedom experts to provide defenses against religious persecution and oppression."
Christian Solidarity Worldwide
The main page has a dropdown menu to search for news about various countries along with CSW's work in those countries.

Freedom in the World
Call Number: JC571 .F66
Assesses the condition of political rights and civil liberties around the world. Each country profile has a section on freedom of belief.

Under Caesar's Sword: How Christians Respond to Persecution
A special issue of Faith & International Affairs focusing on Christians' response to persecution in various countries. Comes from the Under Caesar's Sword Project.

Under Caesar's Sword by Daniel Philpott (Editor); Timothy Samuel Shah (Editor)
Call Number: BR1601.3 .U53 2018
ISBN: 9781108425308
Publication Date: 2018
The global persecution of Christians is an urgent human rights issue that remains underreported. This volume presents the results of the first systematic global investigation into how Christians respond to persecution. Includes chapters on Christian responses to persecution in various countries. Also comes from the Under Caesar's Sword Project.
Christianity and Freedom by Allen D. Hertzke; Timothy Samuel Shah
Call Number: BT810.3 .C48 2016 v.2
ISBN: 9781107561885
Publication Date: 2015
Includes data on Christian populations and persecution, along with essays on Christian religious freedom in specific countries such as Pakistan and China.

Review of Faith & International Affairs
Includes articles on religious freedom. Try searching for your particular country, or for a governmental organization that might be responding to religious persecution.
Providence - International Religious Liberty
A new journal on Christianity & American foreign policy. Includes a section on international religious liberty. Because it's so new, it doesn't have many articles, but you may find something depending on your country assignment.

Christians in Egypt by Andrea B. Rugh
Call Number: DT72.C7 R84 2016
ISBN: 9781137568687
Publication Date: 2016
Christians in the Middle East have come under increasing pressure in recent years with the rise of radical Islam. In Egypt, the large Coptic Christian community has traditionally played an important political and historical role. This book examines Egyptian Christians' responses to sectarian pressures in both national and local contexts.