Skip to main content

Reference Managers: Zotero, Mendeley, etc.

Reference managers are easy-to-use tools that can help you collect, organize, cite, and share research sources. This guide will explain how to install three different reference managers, Zotero, Mendeley, and Endnote.

Documentation

Have an existing bibliography? Create citations.

An online tool, AnyStyle can be used to extract bibliographic references from documents in 3 simple steps:

  • Copy and paste your citations into the input box on the web site
  • Use the easy editing tool to make corrections
  • Generate a BibTeX that you can import into Zotero

Purchase Options

Buswell library provides limited support for Endnote.  To use EndNote you will need to purchase software.  For current pricing, visit the EndNote web site Software is available for both PC and MAC.

The library recommends Zotero and Mendeley as free full-featured alternatives.

Start your research with EndNote

EndNote is a software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies, citations and references on the Windows and Macintosh desktop.  Collect, collaborate, and create.  Visti the EndNote web site for pricing.

How to use EndNote in 7 minutes (Windows)

How to use EndNote in 6 minutes (MAC)

Full Text and Proxy Settings for EndNote

Recent versions of EndNote can locate full text PDF files or use the Library's Find It service to locate articles online. You need to set your preferences in EndNote to use these. If you are off-campus, you also need to set up authentication.

  1. In EndNote go to Preferences and select "Find Full Text"
  2. Enter the following url for Open URL Path ​https://sfx.carli.illinois.edu/sfxwhe 
  3. Enter this for Authentication URL https://ezproxy.wheaton.edu/login 
  4. Go to References --> Find Full Text --> Authenticate

Windows users will get an error message about an invalid certificate. It is safe to accept the certificate.

Mac users will get a blank screen unless they have told Safari to accept the certificate.