These 3 guides to research remain important touchstones for anyone studying the Reformation. Each bibliographic essay charts the historiography on a given domain of Reformation scholarship up to that point in time, identifying the seminal works and research trends in the field, and providing a unique review of the history of the scholarly conversation that you may join for a time.
In examining the influence of ancient Greek philosophy, as well as the Arabian and Hebrew scholars who transmitted it, Historical Dictionary of Medieval Philosophy and Theology presents the philosophy of the Christian West from the 9th to the early 17th century. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on philosophers, concepts, institutions, and events, making this an invaluable reference on the progression of human thought.
This volume brings together 29 new essays by leading international scholars, to provide an inclusive overview of recent work in Reformation history. Presents Catholic Renewal as a continuum of the Protestant Reformation. Examines Reformation in Eastern and Western Europe, Asia and the Americas. Takes a broad, inclusive approach - covering both traditional topics and cutting-edge areas of debate.
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Christianity by John H. Arnold (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BR162.3 .O94 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-21
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Christianity takes as its subject the beliefs, practices, and institutions of the Christian Church between 400 and 1500AD.This Handbook is a landmark academic collection that presents cutting-edge interpretive perspectives on medieval religion for a wide academic audience, drawing together thirty key scholars in the field from the United States, the UK, and Europe. Notably, the Handbook is arranged thematically, and focuses on an analytical, rather than narrative, approach, seeking to demonstrate the variety, change, and complexity of religion throughout this long period, and the numerous different ways in which modern scholarship can approach it.
Call Number: Ref BR302.8 .O93 1996 (Click on hyperlinked title to access online version)
Publication Date: 1996-02-29
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole.
The word ''renaissance'', French for ''rebirth'', perfectly describes the intellectual and cultural revival experienced in Europe, starting early in the 14th century and ending early in the 17th century. There are about 4,000 A-Z entries in the text, ranging in length from the very short and concise to the longer and more detailed. These entries cover a wide spectrum of topics including art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict.