Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore Sociology Journals!
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level."
Bureau of Justice Statistics
"...collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.”
The leading source of quality data about the people and economy of the United States.
Demographic and Social Statistics: United Nations
"...disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others."
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data; available as data files for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.
MPI: Migration Policy Institute
"The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide."
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
“...published since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.”
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
"[Serves as] the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories."
Uniform Crime Reporting (FBI)
Contains crime statistics compiled by over 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. Full-text data available since 1995. Includes links to Crime in the United States statistics, Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and other related topics.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study.
Provides the full text of journal articles from a selected set of journals in many disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Provides access to current articles from newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals. A great place to begin your research.
Provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.
Black Thought and Culture
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.
ATLA Religion Database
Provides citations of journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and dissertations in the field of religion broadly considered, and the religious aspects of other disciplines. Good for integration component.