In addition to an overview of the Christian literature, this two-volume set also includes 40 essays on the principal genres of Christian literature and more than 400 bio-bibliographical essays describing the principal writers and their works. These essays examine the evolution of Christian thought as reflected in the literature of every age.
Featuring entries composed by leading international scholars, The Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature presents comprehensive coverage of all aspects of English literature produced from the early 16th to the mid 17th centuries.
This work is an award winning compendium of authors, concepts, motifs, characters, themes, works, and movements associated with folklore and literature from around the world. * Provides an informative introduction * Includes extensive cross references and a bibliography
Covers the elements, structure, principles and techniques of rhetoric in literature, communication and more specifically, in public speaking. This work also includes major figures and rhetoric in non-Western cultures.
"James L. Harner's Literary Research Guide evaluates important reference materials in English studies...The fifth edition contains more than 1,000 entries, which discuss an additional 1,555 books, articles, and electronic resources and cite 723 reviews. This edition also features a new section on cultural studies."
A rich source of information about the world's finest literature. Over 10,000 entries and 250 illustrations covering authors, works, and literary terms and topics from all eras and all parts of the world. Includes pronunciations.
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature provides the first comprehensive one-volume reference work devoted to this rich tradition, surveying the length and breadth of black literary history, focusing in particular on the lives and careers of more than 400 writers.
From Romeo and Juliet to Rebecca, nearly 300 entries treat scores of the most memorable novels and plays, providing information on authors, works, characters, and themes. Thoroughly illustrated, cross-referenced, and indexed, Classic Love and Romance Literature accomplishes what the best reference books always do: It sends you back to the originals.
Completely revised and updated, the fourth edition of this established dictionary offers entries on all aspects of the classical world. With reception and anthropology as new focus areas and numerous new entries, it is an essential reference work for students, scholars, and teachers of classics and for anyone with an interest in the classical era.
This edition of the classic reference has been thoroughly revised and updated, offering unrivalled coverage of English literature. It continues to offer detailed and authoritative information on authors and works, alongside extended coverage of popular literary genres, as well as of the themes and concepts encountered by students.
For nearly twenty-five years A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students has helped students avoid the pitfalls of conducting library research for term papers and theses. Updated and revised, the sixth edition shows undergraduates how to use their research time efficiently and how to locate and evaluate material available from electronic databases and the Internet.
"This is a knowledgeable and lively companion for students encountering Anglo-Saxon or Middle English literature for the first time in a survey course or even for specialists in a particular medieval area who wish to pursue other genres....Students of medieval literature will want to own and reread this volume." (Choice)
This volume contains provocative essays on canonical genres such as love poetry and Jacobean tragedy, but also accounts of popular and occasional productions of drama and verse. The book then moves on to consider pertinent issues such as feminism, sexuality, humanism and historicism.
This study, which brings together recent work by leading historians as well as literary and cultural critics of the period, shows how the Restoration produced the concept of a national literature crucial to a new nationalist cultural enterprise: questions of national identity and difference, of what it meant to be English or British or both, came to be framed in terms of international trade and imperial ambition; and religious and royal authority gave way before the advance of a secular literary culture geared to the demands of a developing commercial and imperial nation.
This collaborative History aims to become the standard work on Victorian literature for the twenty-first century. Well-known scholars introduce readers to their particular fields, discuss influential critical debates and offer illuminating contextual detail to situate authors and works in their wider cultural and historical contexts. Sections on publishing and readership and a chronological survey of major literary developments between 1837 and 1901, are followed by essays on topics including sexuality, sensation, cityscapes, melodrama, epic and economics. Victorian writing is placed in its complex relation to the Empire, Europe and America, as well as to Britain's component nations. The final chapters consider how Victorian literature, and the period as a whole, influenced twentieth-century writers. Original, lucid and stimulating, each chapter is an important contribution to Victorian literary studies. Together, the contributors create an engaging discussion of the ways in which the Victorians saw themselves and of how their influence has persisted.