Research Guides: Sociology: Recommended Resources

Library Resources Search

Library Search allows you to search across a wide array of books, articles, and other sources in Buswell Library and in libraries around the world.

Enter a search term(s) in the box below to get started with Library Search.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (GS)
Google Scholar is a very helpful search tool for exploring issues within a topic. The "cited by" link indicates how many subsequent works cited this one and offers some guidance as to what articles are most important.

Tip! Connect Google Scholar with the Library
Changing the settings in Google Scholar to include a "Find it @ Wheaton" link will give you access to full text resources to which the Library subscribes.

Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, analytic reviews in 33 focused disciplines within the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text for thousands of publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles in education and citations of other education-related documents.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Provides citations of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and dissertations in religion, biblical studies, and theology, as well as the religious aspects of other disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides a very large collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Women and social movements in the United States (Scholars Edition) This link opens in a new window
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Provides rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 654,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 547,600 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.

Reference Material

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, 11 Volume Set by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1405124334
Publication Date: 2007-01-23
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HM425 .C36 2006
ISBN: 9780521832908
Publication Date: 2006-08-14
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by Vincent N. Parrillo (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781452265926
Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Handbook of Cultural Sociology by John R. Hall (Editor); Laura Grindstaff (Editor); Ming-cheng Lo (Editor); Ming-cheng Lo (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780203891377
Publication Date: 2010-09-13

Newspaper Databases

New York Times
Provides access to both current and historical content dating back to 1850. Viewable online and through mobile app. Users must first register. Visit this URL for instructions: https://wheaton.libanswers.com/faq/266295
U.S. Newsstream
Full text of current U.S. news content and archives back into the 1980s. Features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites.

Sociology

Library Resources Search

Google Scholar

Databases

Reference Material

Newspaper Databases

Sociology Journals