Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 7468 texts including 1311 aria texts.
SingersBabel offers tools to help you learn the meaning and pronunciation of texts found in oratorios, secular and sacred choral music, cantatas, art songs, and song cycles. Hear a native speaker reciting the text while seeing the original text, word-for-word translation, and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) Guide in the BabelGuide™.
"Includes the complete editions of the music of individual composers and the major collections of music that have been published or are in the process of publication...that is, collections, anthologies, or monumental sets of music considered by the author to have historical value, musical worth, reliable editing, or significance to music research"--Preface, p. ix.
This publication updates the Heyer work above. It inventories over 8,000 historically important collected editions of music. It seeks exhaustive coverage for numbered monumental sets and composers' collected editions, and gives complete listings for many musicologically significant publishers' series and anthologies.
This publication discusses 8,200 songs in 818 lists for nine voice classifications, and is indexed by composer, title, vocal range, and publisher. The complete work represents the living song repertoire of today drawn from recital programs, recordings, broadcasts, telecasts, and other sources, and is comprised of Part I: Coloratura, Lyric and Dramatic Soprano, Part II: Mezzo Soprano and Contralto, Part III: Lyric and Dramatic Tenor, and Part IV: Baritone and Bass.
Sergius Kagen’s encyclopedic guide to music for the voice has been a standard reference work for singers and teachers for nearly 30 years. For each of several thousand works, the singer can find the compass and tessitura, the vocal type to which the song is suited, as well as remarks on the character or challenges of the piece, with occasional advice to the accompanist. Headnotes give general information on some major composers and important song cycles. This single volume helps the performer find works by hundreds of composers from Europe and America, from the Renaissance through the mid-20th century, and genres ranging from folk airs to bel canto. Entries are arranged by composer within larger categories: Songs and Airs before the 19th Century, Songs of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Folk Songs, and Operatic Extracts. An index of composers makes access to listings even easier.
Familiar to conductors, orchestra managers, and music librarians, this classic sourcebook of information necessary to plan orchestral programs and organize rehearsals has been greatly expanded and revised. The fourth edition features nearly 6400 compositions that cover the standard repertoire for American orchestras (a 42% increase over the third edition), clearer entries, and a more useful system of appendixes.
This publication describes selected solo piano compositions of nearly 2000 composers. The author also includes brief biographical sketches of the major composers and presents pertinent facts about many of the others that are relevant to the composers' pianistic and compositional approaches.
Nicolas Slonimsky's venerable single-volume reference is now a six-volume set, with better page layout and typeface, and a subject range outside its traditional concentration on classical music. Under new editorship since Slonimsky's death in 1995, coverage has expanded to over 1,000 new entries on classical music and over 2,000 new entries on jazz and popular music. Nice features include reprints of Slonimsky's witty introductions to earlier editions and indexes for genre, nationality, and women composers and musicians.
This classic reference work has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid prose, this is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments with historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. Encyclopedia-length articles by notable experts alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments.
This publication is the best-known single-volume summary of the world of music that was researched and written by one person. Percy Scholes' intention was to produce a work which was of relevance to a wide range of readers, from the professional musician to the concert-goer ... His work was aimed at a reader for whom it "will neither be beyond the scope of his pocket nor embarrass him by a manner of expression so technical as to add new puzzles to the puzzle which sent him to the book". The result was a work which was highly accessible to the general reader, as well as being of use to the specialist. Scholes' style, whilst being scholarly and well-researched, was also sometimes quirky and opinionated [Wikipedia]
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Twenty-five years ago, the four volumes of the first edition of the dictionary initiated a great expansion in American music scholarship. This second edition reflects the growth in scholarship the first edition initiated. At eight volumes, it provides greatly expanded coverage, particularly in the areas of popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups.
This publication takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Although each volume will differ because of the nature of the material, the organization remains consistent throughout all: regional overviews first; music in the social context next; then finally, the musical traditions of individual countries or ethnic groups. Of exceptional value are the CDs that accompany each volume, often with previously unrecorded music, as well as the resource guides, extensive bibliographies, and photographs.
This publication contains the lyrics and phonetic transcriptions (using the International Phonetic Alphabet) to 413 Italian, French, and German songs. These lyrics have been carefully selected from Coffin's The Singer's Repertoire (1960) and are representative of the most frequently performed vocal repertoire, with songs and arias for all voice classifications.
This publication contains 27,000 entries; and it features a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.