Draws on experts in archaeology to provide information on such aspects of the Bible as cultural history, folklore in the ancient Near East, travel and communication, music, and even the use of computers in Biblical studies. ABD is also available in digital format through Accordance Bible Software, which is loaded on the 2 iMacs in the Reading Room, and on a MacBook Pro (request at the circulation desk).
Call Number: Ref BS440 .O927 2015 (click on title for online version)
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
The two-volume OEBT contains 168 entries ranging in length from 2,000 to 8,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry affords students and scholars a comprehensive topical and methodological summary of the topic that serves as both a go-to reference anda starting point for original research. The OEBT's distinctive approach and range of entries make it a unique resource that fills a void in biblical scholarship.
150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Provides introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. [Publisher]
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books offers in-depth articles focused on key topics, many of them written by noted experts. The history of Israel forms the skeletal structure of the Old Testament. Understanding this history and the biblical books that trace it is essential to comprehending the Bible.
The third of IVP's critically acclaimed series of dictionaries of the New Testament provides focused study on the often-neglected portions of the New Testament: Acts, Hebrews, the General Epistles and Revelation. Furthermore, its scope goes beyond the life of the New Testament church to include the work of the apostolic fathers and early Christianity up through the middle of the second century.
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by T. Desmond Alexander (General Editor); Brian S. Rosner (General Editor); Donald A. Carson (Consultant Editor); Graeme Goldsworthy (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS440 .N437 2000
Publication Date: 2000-12-07
A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture.
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis by Willem A. VanGemeren (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS440 .N438 1997
Publication Date: 1997-08-28
5-volume Old Testament reference work contains articles on the theology of each individual Old Testament book, as well as discussions of biblical concepts, people, places, events, and literary pieces. Volume five contains a series of indexes: a Hebrew index, subject index, and an index of semantic fields.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis by Moisés Silva (Revised by)
Call Number: Ref BS2312 .N48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Thoroughly revised and updated in 2014, offering a wealth of background and information on the meaning of Greek words in the New Testament--as well as related usage in classical Greek sources, the Septuagint, Jewish literature, and more.
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era.