Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles (mostly secondary sources)
Political Science Complete
Provides citations of journal articles in Political Science and International Relations.
America: History & Life
Contains citations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Provides the full text of journal articles from a selected set of journals in many disciplines.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to citations from over 660 journals in the field of communication and mass media, with some full-text.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus
Provides citations of journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and dissertations in the field of religion broadly considered, and the religious aspects of other disciplines. Good for integration component.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Provides streaming access to several thousand educational videos accessible via the web and on mobile devices. Includes documentaries of U.S. presidents. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.
Religion and the American Presidency by
Call Number: E176.1 .R37 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book chronologically analyzes thirteen key US Presidents, from Washington to Trump, to highlight how religion has informed or influenced their politics and policies. This volume reveals the deep religious side to such presidents as Truman, Eisenhower, and Reagan, among others, and the impact that faith had on their administrations.
For presidents not included in these texts:
- Begin with secondary sources.
- JSTOR, ATLA, and Google Books will be particularly useful
- In your search, combine the president's name with words such as faith, religio*, God. Or search for all at once with ("faith" OR "religio*" OR "God")
- Adherents.com includes a list detailing known religious affilitations of famous individuals. Easiest way to find your president: do a google search for: site:adherents.com your president (e.g., site:adherents.com james buchanan)--NOTE: This site is particularly useful in pointing you to primary sources. You should not include it as one of your sources, unless you are absolutely unable to locate the primary document. See Christa for help.