It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site is devoted to bringing you contemporary information and resources concerning the study of presidential rhetoric. Contains archives of presidential speeches, as well as good links to presidential libraries.
This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.
This program is systematically and comprehensively debriefing the principal figures in the administrations of Presidents Carter, Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and Clinton, with plans to do the same for future presidents. We are also conducting special projects on important topics in political history, including a six-year oral history on the life and career of Senator Edward M. Kennedy.
"...a collection of approximately 400 items or 2,000 digital files relating to inaugurations from George Washington's in 1789 to Barack Obama's inauguration of 2009. This presentation includes diaries and letters of presidents and of those who witnessed inaugurations, handwritten drafts of inaugural addresses, broadsides, inaugural tickets and programs, prints, photographs, and sheet music."
Features political cartoons from various publications, and includes explanations of the historical context and images of each cartoon, campaign overviews, biographical sketches, a review of the era's major issues, and other valuable information.
Prepared by the Office of the Federal Register, this is published to provide proclamations and Executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect, covering the period April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, Truman through Reagan.
Formerly known as Lexis-Nexis Academic. Provides the full text of many newspapers published in the U.S. and other countries, news wire services, radio and television transcripts, U.S. case law and codes, government documents, company reports, and related materials.
The Digital Public Library of America is a free, online library that provides access to millions of photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents and more from libraries, museums and archives across the United States.
Evaluating Primary Sources
When you use primary sources, you need to evaluate them just as you would any other type of source. Here are some questions to consider:
Who is the author or creator?
What biases or assumptions may have influenced the author or creator?
Who was the intended audience?
What is the origin of the primary source?
What was the significance of the source at the time it was created?
Has the source been edited or translated, or altered in some way from the original?
What questions could be answered about the time period by using this source?
What, if any, are the limitations of the source?
Does your understanding of the source fit with other scholars’ interpretations, or does it challenge their argument?
Can you substantiate the claims of this source with other primary sources?
Provides streaming access to several thousand educational videos accessible via the web and on mobile devices. Includes speeches of U.S. presidents. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.
"The Evolving Presidency selects primary sources useful for tracing the development of the presidency and places them in a single reader, making it a vital resource for students and instructors." --Robert Robinson, California State University Fullerton Remind your students that primary sources are an essential part of today's information-rich age. In Michael Nelson's Sixth Edition of The Evolving Presidency, 60 documents help to anchor the ever-changing presidency in historical context. Students encounter a range of documents--from speeches and debates to letters, landmark Supreme Court decisions, and even tweets--that demonstrate how the presidency is shaped through both word and deed. Every selection has its own headnote that is carefully crafted to convey the significance of the document during its own time and its lasting effects on the office of the presidency. New to the Sixth Edition: This edition contains sixty documents, more than in any previous edition, including additions that reflect historically significant recent events, notably Donald Trump's inaugural address and his employment of Twitter as a form of presidential communication. Two brand-new additions from the early days of Donald Trump's presidency: The text of his pessimistic and populist inauguration speech, in which he promised a focus on "America first"; A compilation of 68 tweets from one week in July 2017, providing students with a context to analyze his unprecedented use of the social network to directly engage with citizens, colleagues in the government, and even other world leaders.