Skip to main content

ELIC

Search a Specific Journal

Know exactly what journal you're looking for?  Search for it in our Journal List! It's an A-Z list of ALL the Journal titles that Buswell Library owns, and where they're located.

ILL

Is there a book you want to read or use for research but the Library doesn’t own it?  You can still get them through Interlibrary Loan

Just search the item in the catalog and click the "Request Item through I-Share" button or, if that's not available, click the "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan" button.  This service provides Wheaton College students, faculty, and staff access to the collections of local, regional, and national libraries. Books can be picked up at the Main Library circulation desk.

Have questions on how to submit an Interlibrary Loan request or what can be ordered?  Contact Interlibrary Loan at
(630) 752-5843.

WorldCat Local FYI

By default, WorldCat Local includes the following databases:

  • Wheaton's book catalog
  • I-Share Catalog
  • WorldCat
  • JSTOR
  • MEDLINE
  • ERIC
  • HathiTrust
  • Academic Search Premier
  • ArticleFirst
  • British Library Inside Serials
  • OAIster
  • PapersFirst
  • ProceedingsFirst
  • Elsevier

Library Catalog

Search the library to find more TESOL books!
WorldCat.org >>

Finding Resources Through WorldCat Local

 

Begin searching the library catalog from the All Resources tab on library's homepage at http://library.wheaton.edu :

  • Use your search terms as Keyword(s). Or search by title, author, or subject words if you know them.
  • You can use quotes ("") to search for an exact phrase (e.g. "college students")
  • You can select the format that you want to search for (e.g., "Books," "Articles," or "Video/DVDs")
  • If a resource that you want to use is checked out or not owned by Wheaton, you can request a copy from another library through I-Share or through Interlibrary Loan via WorldCat

Additional Tips:

  • Go to the Advanced Search and Add/Remove Databases to include databases in political science, sociology, history, etc.
  • Remember that searching many databases simultaneously results in lowest common denominator searching. Search individual databases for greater precision.
  • Specify publication year(s) in the Advanced Search, or use yr: (e.g., yr:2005, or for a range of years, yr:2005..2011)


Additional Advanced Search Tips:

  • Use a colon after an index label, au:shakespeare
  • Use Boolean search operators, parentheses, proximity operators, wildcards; operators can be le, ge, it, gt, n, near, w, with, and, or, not.
  • Wildcards include "#" for one character, "?" for any number of characters, and "*" for truncation.
  • Keyword searches publication year, ISBN, geographic codes, map data, and all the information found in the Author, Title, Notes and Subject indexes
Label Searches Example
kw: Keyword kw:computer programming
ti: Title/journal title ti:grapes of wrath
au: Author au:shakespeare
ge: Form/genre ge:novel
yr: Year of publication yr:2009
mt: Material type mt:DVD
pb: Publisher pb:springer
so: Source so:scientific american
su: Subject su:coffee and tea
sn: Standard number sn:9780763625894
Can be any standard number, ISSN, or ISBN
Hyphens can be included or removed

    Evaluating Information

    Authority

    • Who is providing the information? What are the credentials of the author?
    • Can the organization or author be contacted?
    • What type of website is it? .com .edu .org .gov .mil

    Accuracy

    • Is the content accurate?
    • Are the sources of information listed so that you can verify the data?

    Objectivity

    • Does the author or organization promote a specific viewpoint?
    • Is the content opinion or substantiated facts?

    Currency

    • Are there dates indicating when the information was published or updated?
    • Is there any indication that the material is kept current?

    Coverage

    • Is the information sufficient enough to make access worthwhile?
    • Are the links and references to other resources meaningful?