Research Guides: Early Christian Studies: Reference Works

Reference Works - Early Christianity

Descriptions for several of the titles below are taken from Balay, Robert., Carrington, Vee Friesner. Martin, Murray S., eds. Guide To Reference Books. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996. Print. The alpha-numeral identifies the entry in the Guide.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino (General Editor); Thomas C. Oden (Consultant Editor); Joel C. Elowsky (Consultant Editor); James Hoover (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Ref BR66.5 .D5813 2014 (or click on hyperlinked title for online version)
ISBN: 9780830829439
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson (Editor); Frederick W. Norris (Editor); Michael P. McHugh (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BR162.2 .E53 1997
ISBN: 9780815316633
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
"Covers persons, places, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms from the time of Jesus to approximately 600 CE. Articles by 135 specialists include bibliographies and cross-references. Extensive subject index. Intended for general readers, students, and professors in fields outside religion who want information concerning early Christianity." (Balay BC274)
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by Susan Ashbrook Harvey (Editor); David Hunter (Editor); David G. Hunter
Call Number: Ref BR121.3 .O99 2008
ISBN: 9780199271566
Publication Date: 2008-08-15
Titles in the Oxford Handbooks series (likewise the Cambridge Companions) are excellent for introductory essays and recommended readings on a host of important topics in the field.

Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity Online
The Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (BEEC) focuses on the history of early Christianity, covering texts, authors, and ideas. The BEEC aims both to provide a critical review of the methods used in Early Christian Studies and also to update the history of scholarship.
more...less...
The BEEC focuses on early Christianity from a historical perspective in order to uncover the lasting legacy of the authors and texts until the present day. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE. Currently 620 articles are available. The encyclopedia will consist of about 1300 articles. Every year about 300 articles will be added until planned completion in 2022. Once the online version is completed the encyclopedia will become available in print in 6 volumes.

Reference Works - Specialized

Worship in the Early Church: An Anthology of Historical Sources by Lawrence J. Johnson
Call Number: Ref BV6 .J64 2009
ISBN: 9780814661970
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Named a 2010 Outstanding Academic Title by Choicemagazine! Jewish prayers from tale and synagogue; Subapostolic Era: the Didache, Clement of Rome, Ignatius of Antioch, Pastor Hermas; Second Century: Justin Martyr, Irenaeus of Lyons, Melito of Sardis; Third Century: Tertullian, Cyprian of Carthage, Hippolytus of Rome, the Didascalia of the Apostles,Origen, the Apostolic Church Order;and others. Lawrence J. Johnson is the former executive secretary of the Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions and the former editor/director of The Pastoral Press.
Early Christian Greek and Latin Literature: a Literary History by C Moreschini, E. Norelli
Call Number: Ref BR67 .M73 2005
ISBN: 1565636066
Expansive work that includes the literary forms of the NT (Epistles and Gospels). At least one reviewer finds the authors' personal opinions spilling over regrettably into the articles, and the bibliographies are scant.
The Westminster Dictionary of New Testament and Early Christian Literature and Rhetoric by David Edward Aune
Call Number: Ref BS2312 .A86 2003
ISBN: 0664219179
Publication Date: 2003-11-30
"The Westminster Dictionary of New Testament and Early Christian Literature and Rhetoric details the variety of literary and rhetorical forms found in the New Testament and in the literature of the early Christian church." From book jacket
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs: a reference guide to more than 700 topics discussed by the Early Church Fathers by David Bercot (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BR66.5 .D53 1998
ISBN: 1565633571
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
Augustine through the Ages by Allan D. Fitzgerald (Editor)
Call Number: Ref B655.Z69 A84 1999
ISBN: 9780802838438
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Augustinus-Lexikon by Cornelius Petrus Mayer; Erich Feldmann
Call Number: Ref BR65.A9 A93 1986
ISBN: 9783796508547
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
"The Augustinus-Lexikon is both a conceptual and a real dictionary. In alphabetical order, it covers concepts, people and things that are of importance for the life, work and teachings of Augustine." from publisher website