Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wheaton's Guide to Research & the Library: Faculty Guide: FYS Tutorial Content

Contents

Tutorial Content Overview

The "Into all the World" Information Literacy Tutorial contains 6 sections. Each section presents content and gives students opportunities to test their understanding through practice questions and quiz questions. The sections are:

  1. "Into all the World" Introduction
  2. Information Needs
  3. Searching
  4. Evaluate & Reflect
  5. Refining a Search
  6. Conclusion

Learning Outcomes

The tutorial as a whole seeks to help students become adept at research and using the library by addressing 3 topics in the context of college research:

  • Information organization
  • Information access
  • Information use & evaluation

Each section also has specific objectives:

Section 2: Information Needs
Upon completing this section, students will be able to:

  • Identify where different types of information can be found
  • Identify the type of information they need
  • Understand how information is produced

Section 3: Searching
Upon completing this section, students will be able to:

  • Explain where to find various types of information
  • Understand why and how to use the library website
  • Design and perform an effective search

Section 4: Evaluate & Reflect
Upon completing this section, students will be able to:

  • Determine the authority and relevance of an information source
  • Explain the difference between plagiarism and copyright
  • Understand strategies to use to avoid plagiarism

Section 5: Refining a Search
Upon completing this section, students will be able to:

  • Recognize information that can change their information need
  • Know how to incorporate new information into the search process

Uploading 2017 Tutorial to Schoology

Point Values

The tutorial is worth a total of 112 points, and a total of 70% is needed to pass the tutorial.

  1. "Into all the World"Intro: 0 points
  2. Information Needs: 52 points
  3. Searching: 26 points
  4. Evaluate & Reflect: 26 points
  5. Refining a Search: 8 points
  6. Conclusion: Final grade presented

Detailed Content Outline

Detailed Content Outline

Section 1: "Into all the World" Introduction

Topics: introduction to the tutorial, including practice and quiz questions; scenario; iterative research.

Detailed Description:

Introduction to the tutorial
This section introduces students to the technological requirements for the tutorial, the interactive exercises, how points are calculated, and the scenario that provides the lens through which the tutorial content is presented. 

Iterative Research Cycle
This section introduces students to the iterative research cycle: identifying an information need, searching for information, evaluating and reflecting on the information found, and refining the information need based on what is learned. This is presented as something that is done at all research levels: faculty follow this cycle just as freshmen do.

Section 2: Information Needs

Topics: Identifying an “information need,” understanding various types of information and how they are produced, scholarly information and why it matters.

Detailed Description:

Information Need    
This section introduces students to the idea that their information need is the gap between what they know and what they need to know. 

Types of Information
This section introduces students to different types of information, including newspapers, blogs, scholarly journals, trade magazines because knowing how and why a piece of information is created and distributed can help in determining whether or not it will fill an information need.

Producing Information
This section introduces how information is produced over time to help students recognize that certain types of information take longer to produce than others, which impacts what information might be available on a current topic.

Scholarly Information
This section introduces scholarly communication and how scholarly publications differ from popular and trade publications. It also describes the peer review process. 

Section 3: Searching

Topics: how different information and how they can be used to fulfill an information need; databases and how they work; organization of the library website; how to find books in a catalog; understanding call numbers and using them to locate a book on the library shelf; identifying keywords.

Detailed Description:

Information Resources
This section describes how to locate the different kinds of information described in the previous sections. It outlines the similarities and differences among the library catalog, library databases, Google, and Google Scholar, and the role of “internet sources” in research.

Databases
This section introduces databases as containers for organizing information or products. JSTOR is a database, but so is iTunes or Amazon.

Library Website
This section takes students on a tour of the library website, introducing them to key features such as the “ask a librarian” chat, where to find books and articles, the FAQ, and the research help page. It also discusses how to best use books and articles in research.

Finding Books
This section guides the student through the process of using the library book catalog to find a specific item and introduces I-Share and WorldCat as ways of getting books not available at Wheaton.

Understanding Call Numbers
This section explains the different parts of a Dewey Decimal Call Number and how to find books in the library.

Identifying Keywords
This section teaches students how to identify keywords related to a topic, as well has how to narrow and broaden keywords to focus that topic. It also guides students through the process of finding resources using keywords, rather than a title, and how to use the “Find it” button to access full-text articles.

Section 4: Evaluate & Reflect

Topics: evaluating sources using the CRAAP test; intellectual property vs. copyright; citing sources; plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Detailed Description:

CRAAP Test
This section introduces the CRAAP Test, the process of evaluating information sources (including websites) based on their currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose.

Intellectual Property
This section defines intellectual property as words, ideas, and creative work that belongs to someone, and acknowledges that figuring out who owns those things can be complex. It also describes the difference between plagiarism and copyright infringement.

Copyright
This section explains copyright as legal protection (under U.S. copyright laws) of someone’s intellectual property (whether formally published or not). 

Citing Sources
This section introduces the elements of citations and gives students practice identifying books, journal articles, and book citations, based on citations.

Plagiarism
This section describes different types of plagiarism and asks students to identify plagiarism when given examples. 

Avoiding Plagiarism
This section recommends five strategies for avoiding plagiarism: manage your time, develop a note-taking strategy, know what needs a citation, know how to incorporate sources into your writing, and know how to accurately cite your sources. It then takes students through those five strategies, including practice identifying good paraphrases.

Section 5: Refining a Search

Topics: using information gained through searching, finding, and evaluating resources to refine a topic.

Detailed Description:

Refining your Search
This section helps students think through how their information need and search strategies can change based on what they learn through searching, evaluating, and reading resources.

Conclusion

Topics: how grading works in Schoology, how to print the certificate.