Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 542 - Research Methods in Education

How do I...

Find books and articles?

  • Search using the Library home page
    • Use the search box to search for books and articles simultaneously.  Search includes databases such as ERIC, JSTOR, and Academic Search.
  • Search in Education topic databases
  • Search in the Web of Science 
    • Limit to the Research Domain of "Social Science" [facets in left column] after you perform a search to limit results to the Social Science Citation Index.

Find the full text of an article if I have a reference/citation

Use the Citation Search. (Also accessed from the "Articles" tab on the Library home page.)

 You can also set up Google Scholar to help you find full text. 

  1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings

  2. Click on "Library Links" in the left navigation.

  3. Search for "Buswell."

  4. Select the check box next to "Wheaton College - Buswell Library..."

  5. Click "Save."

  6. You should now see a "Find it @ Wheaton" link next to resources that you can access.  If the link does not appear to the right for an entry, click the " >> " below the entry; the link will appear.

If we do not have access to the full text you will be given the opportunity to place an ILLiad request

Find out if the library has access to a journal?

Search using Journals by Article. (Also accessed from the "Articles" tab on the Library home page.)

Get a book that is not owned by Buswell?

You can request a book through i-Share or ILLiad.  Both options are available from the detail results screen when you search from the library home page. 

  • i-Share requests can be made for books only and requests go to consortia member libraries.  This is typically faster than an ILLiad request. 
  • ILLiad requests are traditional interlibrary load for both books and articles. 
    • You will be prompted to set up an account the first time you make a request. 

Get a journal article that I cannot access through Buswell?

Articles can be requested through ILLiad. 

  • Use the "Find it @ Wheaton" button found in most databases.  You will be given the option to place an ILLiad request if we do not have access to full text. 
    • You will be prompted to set up an account the first time you make a request. 
  • Articles are delivered electronically, you will get an email when an article you requested is available.

Citation searching allows you to trace the progress of a research topic over time.  If you find an article on a topic anywhere along the timeline, you can:

  • research "backward" in ty by using the references in the back of the article.
  • research "forward" in time:
    • search for the article in Web of Science and click the "Times Cited" link
    • search for the article in Google Scholar and click the "Cited By" link
  • use the "Times Cited" or "Cited By" number to evaluate the importance/impact of an article

                                                                                                       

What is Research?

Picking your topic IS research

Organize your research and more...

IRB information

Contact Brian Hunt brian.hunt@wheaton.edu if you have any questions about the IRB process.