Resources - CHM 342 - Organic Chemistry (Dr. Allison) - Research Guides at Wheaton College

Welcome

You have been assigned a Research Assignment. In order to complete this assignment, you will need to consult a few resources that the library has access to.

Articles

This assignment will require you to choose at least one article from a Journal published by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

ACS Publications - This portal provides the full-text of all journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS)

SciFinder - This is the most comprehensive database for chemical literature that allows you to explore the Chemical Abstracts Society (CAS) database which contains literature for many scientific disciplines. All users are required to register before using SciFinder. Click here to register using your @my.wheaton.edu email account. View pdf file below for step-by-step directions, or email the Chemistry Librarian for assistance.

SciFinder Registration Directions

Books

Organic Chemistry: 100 Must-Know Mechanisms by Roman Valiulin
ISBN: 9783110608373
Publication Date: 2020-04-20
This book summarizes 100 essential mechanisms in organic chemistry ranging from classical such as the Reformatsky Reaction from 1887 to recently elucidated mechanism such as the copper(I)-catalyzed alkyne-azide cycloaddition. The reactions are easy to grasp, well-illustrated and underpinned with explanations and additional information.

Web Resources

Organic Chemistry Portal
Contains information on the most important Name Reactions and keywords for the field of organic synthesis
SynArchive
Find organic syntheses, named reactions & protecting groups through a growing database of chemical syntheses.
Name-Reaction.com
Name-Reaction.com is aimed at educating chemists on organic reactions in an interactive, dynamic and easy to understand format in order to better visualize the abstract world of chemistry and facilitate learning.
ChemSpider
Chemical database that brings chemical information together from all over the web.
PubChem Project
Search tool for Compounds, Substances, and BioAssays. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it provides reliable detailed information, from the very basic to more advanced for each item listed. Provides linking to medical literature and toxicology resources, allowing you to further your research, if you wish.
Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram|Alpha has information such as chemical structure, molecular formula, molar mass and much more for a vast array of different chemical compounds.
Chemistry Subject Guide
A list of resources that can help you find additional information about your molecule (spectral, property, nomenclature, etc.)