If you are accessing the ACS Style Guide from off campus, please connect to the campus VPN (Global Protect) and set your connection Gateway to "Wheaton College + Internet". View the documentation from AIT if you have any questions about getting started with Global Protect.
Examples of Commonly Cited Items:
For more examples and source types, please visit Section 4.3 of the ACS Style Guide.
Please scroll down to view examples of format styles and example citations.
General Guidelines for Journal Articles
List authors' last names, followed by their initials. For multiple authors, place a semicolon between author names.
Indent any lines beyond the first line of an entry.
Use the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index to correctly abbreviate scientific journal titles.
Watch carefully where bold and italics are used in the examples below.
Electronic Journal Articles:
For online scholarly articles found electronically, use the following format:
Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation [Online] Year, Issue, Inclusive Pagination. Complete URL (accessed Date).
Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Block. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019, 141 (7), 2742−2753. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.8b08648
For articles found through an electronic database, include the database name in the citation. Replace the article's URL with that of the database.
Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation [Online], Date, Inclusive Pagination. Database Name. Complete URL of database (accessed Date).
Lanzotti A.; Grasso M.; Staiano G.; Martorelli M. The Impact of Process Parameters on Mechanical Properties of Parts Fabricated in PLA with an Open-source 3-D Printer. Rapid Prototyp. J. 2015, 21 (5), 604−617. DOI: 10.1108/RPJ-09-2014-0135 (accessed 2019)
Consider using a citation manager to hep you keep track of articles and books you find during your research. Citation managers let you tag and annotate your articles and can easily create citations and a bibliography in Microsoft Word. Buswell offers full support and guidance for the following citation managers: Zotero and Mendeley, and limited database connectivity support for Endnote. Each citation manager has its own plug-in for Microsoft Word and some even have browser plug-ins to capture web links. Head on over to our Reference Manager Guide to get started.
Zotero is a free, easy to use tool to hep you collect, organize, cite, and share research sources.
Mendeley is a free desktop software which provides reference management tools. Allows users to manage, share, and organize PDF's, generate citations and biblioigraphies, and network to discover people, papers, and public groups.
Endnote is a software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies, citations, and references on the Windows and Mac desktop allowing users to collect, collaborate, and create. Endnote is not free and will need to be purchased.
To install Zotero you will install Zotero Standalone and a browser connector (Chrome, Firefox). Zotero does not work with Internet Explorer and there are current issues with Safari 13 (the new release).
Each Zotero account comes with 300 megabytes of file storage for storing citation information, PDFs, notes, etc. If necessary, you can purchase additional storage from Zotero.