Research Guides: CHM 294: Chemistry Colloquium (Dr. Lovaasen): Resources

Important Links

Here are a few resources that will help you get started:

Web of Science (All Databases)
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the natural and social sciences.

Web of Science Quick Reference Guide
Features and limiters available when searching in the Web of Science database.

SciFinder-n
The most comprehensive database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) for chemical literature that allows you to explore the CAS database which contains literature for many scientific disciplines. All users are required to register before using SciFinder-n. Click here to register using your @my.wheaton.edu email account. View pdf file below for step-by-step directions, or email the Chemistry Librarian for assistance.

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
Google Scholar
A good familiar, general purpose starting point for research, especially when user accounts are linked to Wheaton College's resources.

Google Scholar Settings
Screen by screen instructions showing users how to link their Google accounts to some of Wheaton College's institutional resources.

Primary Sources, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

What’s the difference?

A Primary Source is original research, the first place a researcher publishes his or her findings.

Examples: journal articles, conference presentations, technical reports, field data.

A Secondary Source discusses, explains, describes, analyzes, or summarizes primary sources.

Examples :books and review articles.

A Tertiary Source describes or analyzes a group of secondary sources.

Examples: annotated bibliographies, encyclopedias and dictionaries.