We at Annual Reviews have been thinking about how to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic. To assist them, on Monday, March 16th we will temporarily remove access control to our content.
I’m making our market research library FREE to your school for the remainder of your semester. This is an offer with absolutely no strings attached. We just want to provide you and your students with a free, reliable market research resource during these uncertain times. Just email us and we’ll get you set up with free access for you and your students.
Berghahn Journals and Books is offering free access to all Berghahn Journals. In addition to those BOA journals available open access, all Berghahn Journals—new issues and all back issues—will be made freely available through June 30. Please view the journals list here.
Open access eBooks and journals: As courses transition to online, we are offering a growing number of Open Access texts (many offered in both ePub and .pdf format) available for direct download from our website. View the complete list of OA eBooks here. For open access journals, visit our journals site to access a number of OA articles as well as to learn about our Berghahn Open Anthro pilot, which makes all 2020 issues of this select anthropology collection available in open access thanks to the Subscribe-to-open model.
Unlimited User access for Library eBooks: Berghahn Books supports its key library partners, ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gardners in granting students unlimited access to their library’s eBooks holdings for a 90-day period. Another important library partner for us, JSTOR, has always offered unlimited user access so you can find a wide selection of our titles going back many years there too.
As we all work together through an unprecedented situation, Bloomsbury Digital Resources would like to help the library and educational community in any way we can. Our resources are now available upon request through the end of May 2020, at no cost or obligation and on an unlimited access basis.
Cambridge University Press has updated its free access offering to university libraries and their associated students and faculty – the collection now features our HTML textbooks, as well as Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements – all told over 2,000 ebooks. This institutional free access offer will be available until June 29, 2020.
Please note that if your institution had previously set up access to our free reference collection, then your access should have automatically been updated to include HTML textbooks. Your patrons will need to go through your library’s normal authentication process to be able to use the included materials.
If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms. Please click here for more information on how to set that up.
If you have users who can't connect to CIAO remotely through their regular library credentials, let us know. We can assign you a username and password that you can share with all your students or patrons, giving them remote access from their homes.
EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing are pleased to offer libraries free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection until May 30, 2020..
This ground-breaking collection contains the complete catalog of Harvard Business Review e-books. With over 600 e-books that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series, faculty will be available to quickly provide relevant digital materials for their students. Gain immediate access for your students and faculty today by contacting your local EBSCO representative.
Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.
With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Contact your EBSCO representative if you have any questions or want to learn more.
Free access to journals content extended until August 2020 and no price rises in 2021
In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, as a publisher which has always put the academic community at the forefront of everything we do, we have decided to open our journals content from 2018-2020 so it is freely available for all to read
We understand how hard you and your colleagues are working to respond to rapidly changing conditions, and we want to help. We strive to be there for our librarian and education communities every day, and this crisis is no exception.
Support for curricular continuity during this rapid shift to online learning and beyond, with materials to help you find and optimize the resources already available to you through your library or consortia partners
Temporary open access to instructional and health-related resources that can help you quickly transition during this pandemic is available for sharing through a companion website, written for a user audience
Professional development resources and training to help you go virtual as well as supporting lesson plans, activities, and other related content
Infobase is proving trail access through April 30, 2020, to 7 databases: American History; Bloom's Literature; Ferguson's Career Guidance Center; Issues & Controversies; Today's Science; World News Digest; Writer's Reference Center using the following credentials:
Free access to two popular IOP ebooks for a limited time. A unique global collaboration on the very prescient topic of machine learning from co-authors at Georgia State University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Sichuan University, and Xi'an Jiaotong University. An updated second edition about a monumental space exploration by an author from the University of Central Florida. These two books provide perspectives on amazing scientific phenomena and they are both available free to you during the entire month of April, 30 2020.
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Watch our scientific video articles. JoVE is happy to provide all of our Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th. You can fill out the following form to request access.
To support our institutions during this challenging time, JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. We also have an expanded set of content that is available to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19 through June 30, 2020. If your institution would like to take advantage of any of the following, please contact JSTOR Support.
For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost.
We are working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program.
In March, we worked with our publisher partners to offer libraries temporary free access to a set of 38,000 ebooks to support the sudden shift to remote teaching and learning, as well as a lack of access to the physical stacks of books. We've seen high usage, evidence that we helped to fill a gap in access, and a positive response from end users, libraries, and the publishing community that participated.
While this initiative was initially slated to end on June 30, many of our participating publishers have generously agreed to extend access through August 31, 2020. More than 32,000 titles from 48 publishers will be included.
Harvard University Press recently announced that it is making its subscription free to all schools and universities affected by COVID-19 until June 30, 2020. Librarians should email Loeb Classical Library Sales for more details. In addition, SCS members can access the library for free until June 30, 2020 via the For Members Only page of our website. Log on to Loeb Classical Library and access the For Members only page via our Membership menu.
To support our library partners and the need for faculty and students to conduct remote learning, we are now offering complimentary access to MIT Press eBooks on MIT Press Direct (https://direct.mit.edu) through the end of May 2020. If you are interested, please complete the short form. Requests need to be made by a library administrator.
In addition, we are partnering with ProQuest and EBSCO to allow multi-user access through mid-June to our eBooks purchased on their platforms. We are also working with Project MUSE and University Press Scholarship Online to expand access to backlist eBooks available on their platforms.
The National Emergency Library is a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
We at NewspaperArchive.com would like to extend our hand in these trying times. We understand many institutions are closing their doors to the public for health and preventative reasons. We would love to help by offering your staff & patrons free access to our 300 million page newspaper collection from the comfort of their own homes. This is a unique feature about our database - remote access to our site using a referring URL. We would also like to offer free remote access to all other libraries who are not currently a part of our community. If you happen to know of any other libraries or institutions that could benefit from our services during these solemn times, we would be happy to extend free access to them during this global pandemic.
In order to obtain remote access, we will need either a referring URL, or an EZProxy IP address. If you are interested in setting this up, please let us know by responding to this email. Micaela Coleman
At Oxford University Press, we understand the challenges of building an online course, even in the best of circumstances. Whether you are an adopter of an Oxford University Press text or not, we can help you. Below are a number of free resources that will help you and your students experience as little disruption as possible as you move to online teaching and learning.
Paratext is pleased to offer access to U.S. Documents Masterfile™ to all academic, public, and special libraries through June 2020. U.S. Documents Masterfile includes 15 million citations with 10 million links to foundational full text U.S. government publications. Many files are updated daily or weekly, alongside hard-to-find historical materials.
If you have already worked with Paratext, send an email to Paratext and we can confirm your existing authentication details.
If you haven’t worked with Paratext , submit a request via our trial page and include your IPs (remote access IP addresses as well). We'll send along access information once confirmed.
Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.
Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. There are several publisher making ebooks and ejournals available to users. For a full list of participating publishers click here.
Coronavirus-Impacted Libraries get Unlimited Access to Ebook Central Holdings. Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users. Participating Publishers
Beginning with the March 16th issue and continuing for issues published during the duration of the Covid-19 crisis, Publishers Weekly is free to access. Everyone can now access the digital edition of PW from www.digitalpw.com or from the PW app on iOS and Android.
To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)
COVID-19 grows daily, affecting libraries, teachers, students, and other music researchers,
RILM is offering temporary access for non-subscribing institutions to the RILM Music Encyclopedias and MGG Online until 31 May 2020. To receive institutional access to RILM Music Encyclopedias and MGG Online on Egret, the RILM platform, please email email@example.com.
The R2 Digital Library ebook database is now offering no charge, no obligation access:
Extended Trial Available – FREE 60-day access. If you aren’t currently an R2 Digital Library customer, you can open a FREE eBook collection of more than 5,000 health sciences titles for 60-days for your patrons to use
OER eBooks – You can provide FREE unlimited access to a collection of 29 eBooks (including the Merck Manual, 20e) . Rittenhouse will waive the maintenance fee for OER only collections
No-risk Patron Driven Acquisition (PDA) – create a database that makes sense for your patrons at no initial cost
RUP is temporarily making all articles in Journal of Cell Biology (JCB), Journal of Experimental Medicine (JEM), and Journal of General Physiology (JGP) free to read until June 30, 2020 while we explore additional ways to support remote access for researchers at home.
Taylor & Francis is offering a collection of Faculty Resources for Online Teaching and Learning. Free access to the titles might be valuable resources for anyone negotiating the transition from in-class to online teaching. From theoretical perspectives to practical tips, this reading list will support you as you and your students adapt to new ways of presenting and engaging with course material. All of the books below will remain fully open through April 24, 2020.
To support remote teaching and research during the COVID-19 global health event, titles in this collection are free-to-read until June 30, 2020. Please note that titles are only downloadable by patrons of purchasing libraries, with the exception of some titles that are open access.